Booker Prize Archive

We are saddened to hear of the death on 25th March 2015 of Martyn Goff, former administrator of the Booker Prize. Martyn was a key figure in the establishment of the Booker Prize Archive at Oxford Brookes.

The Library became the permanent home of the Booker Prize Archive in 2003.

Women and the Booker Prixe Exhibtion 2014

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is an annual prize open to any novel from the Commonwealth and the Republic of Ireland. The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969, it became the Man Booker Prize in 2002. Past winners include V S Naipaul, Iris Murdoch, William Golding, Salman Rushdie, Peter Carey, Arundhati

Roy, Ian McEwan and John Banville. Further information about the Prize can be found on the Man Booker Prize website.

The Archive, which encompasses the administrative history of the Prize from 1968 to date, collects together a diverse range of material, including correspondence, publicity material, copies of both the Longlists and the Shortlists, minutes of meetings, photographs and material relating to the awards dinner (letters of invitation, guest lists, seating plans). Embargoes of ten or twenty years apply to certain categories of material, examples include all material relating to the judging process and the Longlist prior to 2002.

Online Archive Catalogue records exist for material from 1968 - present. The Archive is available for consultation.

Women and the Booker Prize Exhibition 2014

Items from the Archive were included in the exhibition 'The Booker 40 at the V&A' which ran from 6 September 2008 to 17 May 2009 to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Booker Prize.

From 16 June until 11 July 2014 the exhibition Women and the Booker Prize was held in the Glass Tank at Oxford Brookes.The exhibition celebrated key women such as authors Dame Hilary Mantel and Beryl Bainbridge, administrator Marilyn Edwards and judge Dame Rebecca West.

Complementary material held by the Library includes manuscripts donated by the family of inaugural Prize Winner P.H. Newby and the First Chapter Series (Booker Prize) donated by Oak Tree Fine Press.