Vice-Chancellor presents awards to palliative care graduates in Nairobi

Friday, 24 February 2017

Prof Alistair Fitt at the Nairobi Graduation in 2017

Professor Alistair Fitt, Vice-Chancellor at Oxford Brookes, attended a graduation ceremony in Nairobi last week (18 February) as part of a unique University collaboration providing palliative care education.

Oxford Brookes has been working with Nairobi Hospice for over 15 years to produce skilled graduates.

The Diploma in Palliative Care is a franchise agreement between Nairobi Hospice, Kenya and the University’s Faculty of Health and Life Sciences. It offers practitioners from Africa the opportunity to achieve an internationally respected qualification with minimum absence from their own practice and workplace setting.

This interdisciplinary course is designed to enable practitioners to develop skills and knowledge in the care of individuals and families coping with a life-threatening illness and bereavement. The partnership between Brookes and Nairobi Hospice has produced a generation of leaders in African palliative care.

Professor Alistair Fitt, Vice-Chancellor at the University, attended the ceremony and was on hand to present the graduates with their diplomas. He commented: “I am delighted that our collaboration with Nairobi Hospice continues to go from strength to strength and it is an honour to be awarding diplomas to our latest graduates.

“This is the sixth cohort of students to be taught by members of the Nairobi Hospice team and reaffirms Oxford Brookes’ commitment to a global outlook and in supporting an international provision of palliative care.”

“Our Diploma in Palliative Care gives talented, dedicated students the skills they need to go on to do great things. Indeed, a number of graduates have gone on to lead the development of palliative care more widely across Kenya – something I believe is a testament to the success of our partnership.”

The latest graduates will join the doctors, nurses, social workers and physiotherapists from African countries including Malawi, Swaziland, Tanzania, The Gambia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Kenya who have already completed the course.