Department of Biological and Medical Sciences

The Oxford Interdisciplinary Bioscience Doctoral Training Partnership

  • If you wish to apply to the DTP via Oxford Brookes University please complete the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences PhD Research Studentship Application Form

    Application and CV must be emailed to the addresses shown on the application form.

    The Oxford Interdisciplinary Bioscience Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) programme is a 4-year DPhil*/PhD programme that aims to equip a new generation of researchers with the skills and knowledge needed to tackle the most important challenges in bioscience research.

    We provide an innovative, individually-tailored training programme that includes taught courses in interdisciplinary skills and the opportunity for students to undertake two exploratory research projects with prospective supervisors in their first year before choosing their main 3-year research project. Students also undertake a 12-week professional internship to gain direct experience of the areas of work into which they can apply their skills.

    Oxford Brookes University are offering a place on the BBSRC funded DTP within the Department of Biological & Medical Sciences in the areas of plant cell biology, virology, insect and spider development, mammalian cell biology, molecular biology, metabolic modelling/systems biology, parasitology and bioimaging. The successful candidate will enjoy access to our state of the art facilities, including newly refurbished laboratories and bioimaging suite.

    In addition to their choice of PhD project at Oxford Brookes University, the student will be able to undertake their exploratory research projects at any of the seven world-class research institutions that make up the DTP:

    • University of Oxford, coordinators of the DTP
    • Oxford Brookes University, a partner with the University of Oxford in developing regional excellence in bioscience research
    • Pirbright Institute, the UK’s national centre of research into viral diseases of livestock and viruses that spread from animals to humans
    • Diamond Light Source, the UK’s national synchrotron science facility
    • ISIS, which provides national capabilities for neutron science
    • STFC Central Laser Facility, which provides state-of-the-art laser technology for experiments in physics, chemistry and biology
    • The Research Complex at Harwell (RCaH), is a multidisciplinary laboratory specialising in research using Diamond, ISIS and the Central Laser Facility at Harwell
    • The Rosalind Franklin Institute is a new national institute dedicated to bringing about transformative changes in life science through interdisciplinary research and technology development.

    The programme is supported by the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) with additional support from within the Partnership. Please see below for potential supervisors and instructions on how to apply.

    If you wish to apply to the DTP via Oxford Brookes University please complete the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences PhD Research Studentship Application Form.

    Application and CV must be emailed to the address shown on the application form and CC’d to


    We have many projects available which can be taken as a short term (3-month) rotation or a full PhD project. The following supervisors are offering exciting projects; for further information click on the link to visit their lab website.

    Alison Forhead - Endocrine regulation during fetal growth

    Alistair McGregor - Evolution of animal development and morphology

    Andy Jones - Functional studies of insect nicotinic acetylcholine receptors.

    Barbara Jennings - Investigating the mechanism of Groucho-mediated repression

    Casper Breuker - Butterfly Ecological Evolutionary Developmental Biology

    Dave Carter - Extracellular Vesicle biology

    David Meredith - Membrane Transporter function

    Dianne Newbury - The Genetics of Language Disorders

    Hee-Jeon Hong - Microbial genetics and antibiotic resistance

    Isabel Bermudez - Molecular Neuropharmacology

    Jack Sunter  - Understanding cell morphogenesis in Leishmania

    Jon Lees  - Deep Learning for protein function prediction

    Jordi Solana - The use of single-cell RNA-seq to identify stem cells

    Katja Graumann - Nuclear envelope in plants

    Korneel Hens  - Next generation technologies for gene regulatory network mapping

    Linda King - Molecular Virology

    Maike Kittelmann - Synapse formation in neurons

    Maria Santos-Nunes - Phenotypic evolution and adaptation

    Mark Poolman  - Cell systems modelling

    Michael Gerth  - Evolution of inherited microbial symbionts in insects

    Paul Potter - Analysing critical factors in mitochondrial complex I assembly

    Ravinder Kanda - The Role of Endogenous Retroviruses in Immunity

    Ryan Pink - Cell signalling

    Saad Arif -  Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics

    Sue Vaughan - Cell Biology of Trypanosomes

    Verena Kriechbaumer - Endoplasmic reticulum structure and function

    Deadline for receipt of applications is 12 noon on 22 January 2021

    Eligibility criteria: The studentship covers bench fees, stipend, and ‘Home’ tuition fees

    Start date: September/October 2021

    The Bursary is approximately £15,609 for academic year 2021/22

    Applicants require a good Honours degree level equivalent to a UK degree BSc (minimum 2.1 or higher).

    Any queries please contact:  
    Prof David Carter: