Sports Awards 2018 round up

Monday, 23 April 2018

2018 Sports Awards

On the warm and sunny evening of Friday 20th April, Brookes Sport was proud to host the 34th annual Sports Awards. A night where we take the time to give special recognition to our #TEAMBrookes clubs and athletes.

Spirits were high throughout, and the atmosphere as always was fantastic. Each awards night turns out to be bigger and better than the last, and this event was no exception.

The Sports Awards marks the culmination of yet another strong season (we are currently sat in 36th in the BUCS rankings at the time of writing, and we still have a couple of strongest sports to go, looking to better last years 35th place finish. We are also on course to record our highest ever BUCS points tally for the seventh consecutive season!

Before we highlight all of our winners and nominees, we would also like to thank our Brookes Sport staff. From the instructors and coaches, through to the core staff who plan the entire awards, from table plans, all the way through to the dismantling and clean up process into the early hours of Saturday morning.

And one last note, a huge thank you to Gavin Stanton. As well as being our Rugby Union Men’s assistant coach, Gav has spent 12 years working within the Sports department, and he will be sorely missed.

Award winners and nominees

Fresher of the Year

Amber Roberts

Winner - Amber Roberts (Football)

Erin McGready (Netball/Ultimate Frisbee)

Will Heywood (Hockey)

Izzy Cocke (Lacrosse)

Will Goodrick-Clarke (Rugby Union)

Coach of the Year

Joe Winpenny

Winner - Joe Winpenny (Men’s Rugby Union)

Mark Andrews (Women’s Football)

Sarah Thomas (Women’s Hockey)

Enrique Guillen (Men’s Futsal)

Luke Evans (Rugby League)

Small Club of the Year


Winner - Golf




Men’s Futsal

Marc Thompson Memorial Award for Sports Personality of the Year

Kiera Wilkinson

Winner - Kiera Wilkinson (Netball)

Jonny Austin (Hockey)

Harry Bower (Rugby Union)

Ellen Surtees (Football)

S&C Award

Charlie and Laura

Winners - Charlie Lamb and Laura Dorrell

Team of the Year

W1 Football

Winner - Women’s Football 1st

Women’s Hockey 1st

American Football

Men’s Rugby Union 1st

Men’s Hockey 2nd

Sportswoman of the Year

Katharyn Whiteaway

Winner - Katharine Whiteaway (Tennis)

Katy Begly (Volleyball)

Erin McGready (Netball/Ultimate Frisbee)

Amber Roberts (Football)

Lorna Hall (Shooting)

Kristine Santos (Weightlifting)

Sportsman of the Year

Jay Miller

Winner - Jay Miller (Basketball)

Freddie Cracknell (Rugby Union)

Connor Gorsuch (Shooting)

Harry Criss (Shooting)

Sam Richardson (Judo)

Doug Chirnside (Rugby League)

Club of the Year


Winner - Hockey

Men’s Football

Running and Athletics

Women’s Football