School of English and Modern Languages

  • Research: Language and Discourse
  • Language and Discourse

    The Oxford Brookes Language and Discourse interdisciplinary group has a specific focus on the relation between forms discourse, ideology and society.

    Our interests range from the production, interpretation and comprehension of discourse; to its mediation through materials, media and technologies; to the role it plays in social issues of gender, class, race, identity, politics, culture, literacy, and beyond.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Dr Bjoern Asmussen

    Senior Lecturer in Marketing
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485897 | Email: bjoern.asmussen@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington/Clerici/CLC.2.35

    Professor Barrie Axford

    Emeritus Professor of Politics
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483934 | Email: baxford@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Jan Butler

    Senior Lecturer in Popular Music
    Phone: | Email: jan.butler@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Sylwia Ciuk

    Senior Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485814 | Email: sciuk@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC.1.19, Clerici Building, Headington Campus

    Dr Jan Davison-Fischer

    Programme Lead Healthcare Management & CPD and Principal Lecturer Teaching Partnerships
    Phone: 01865 48 2740 | Email: j.fischer@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Marston Road

    Birgit den Outer

    Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485736 | Email: b.den-outer@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Clerici, CLC 1.26

    Dr Barbara Eichner

    Reader in Music
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484986 | Email: barbara.eichner@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Richard Hamilton Building

    Ms Georgina Glenny

    Senior Lecturer in Childhood Studies and Literacy Difficulties
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488570 | Email: goglenny@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Roger Griffin

    Emeritus Professor in Modern History
    Phone: | Email: rdgriffin@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Dai Griffiths

    Senior Lecturer in Music

    Dr Karen Handley

    Reader in Work & Organisation
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485968 | Email: khandley@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC 1.27, Clerici Building, Headington Campus

    Dr Sara Hannam

    Head of International Partnerships, Principal Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485670 | Email: shannam@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLCG15, Clerici, Headington

    Dr James Hawes

    Reader in Creative Writing
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483476 | Email: jhawes@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block, T415

    Dr Juliet Henderson

    Senior Lecturer Communication, Culture and Language
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488476 | Email: jhenderson@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Joy Hendry

    Emeritus Professor of Anthropology
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483752 | Email: jhendry@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Alon Lischinsky

    Senior Lecturer in Communication and Discourse
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488739 | Email: alischinsky@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Office B2.19, B building, Harcourt Hill campus, Oxford OX2 9AT, UK

    Dr Adam Lonsdale

    Senior Lecturer in Psychology
    Phone: 01865 483772 | Email: alonsdale@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Gipsy Lane campus

    Dr Andrea Macrae

    Principal Lecturer in Student Experience and Stylistics
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484308 | Email: andrea.macrae@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T405

    Dr Jill Millar

    Senior Lecturer in Business and Management.
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485418 | Email: jmillar@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC 1.27

    Dr Alberto Mira

    Reader in Film Studies

    Dr Michele Paule

    Senior Lecturer in Culture, Media and Education
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488497 | Email: mpaule@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Rachel Payne

    Principal Lecturer Student Experience
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488339 | Email: rpayne@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Harcourt Hill Campus

    Ms Leander Reeves

    Senior Lecturer in Publishing; Subject Coordinator for Publishing Media Undergraduate Programme
    Phone: | Email: leander.reeves@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Chris Rizza

    Senior Lecturer in English Language and Communication
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488523 | Email: crizza@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Paolo Russo

    Senior Lecturer in Film
    Phone: ext. 3168 | Email: paolo.russo@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Richard Hamilton Building, Room 1.05

    Professor Laura Spira

    Emeritus Professor

    Professor Jane Spiro

    Professor in Education and TESOL, National Teaching Fellow
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488613 | Email: jspiro@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Nichola Stuart

    Senior Lecturer

    Professor Daniela Treveri Gennari

    Professor of Cinema Studies - Research Lead for the School of Arts
    Phone: 01865-483460 | Email: dtreveri-gennari@brookes.ac.uk | Location: RHB113

    Jeff Waistell

    Senior Lecturer Global MBA
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485799 | Email: jwaistell@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC.1.25, Clerici Building, Headington Campus

    Dr Paul Wickens

    Interim Programme Lead for Postgraduate Programmes
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484437 | Email: paulwickens@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Hannah Yelin

    Senior Lecturer in Media and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488486 | Email: hyelin@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Harcourt Hill Campus
  • Postgraduate research students