Department of English and Modern Languages

  • Research: Language and Discourse
  • Language and Discourse

    The Oxford Brookes Language and Discourse interdisciplinary group has a specific focus on the relation between forms discourse, ideology and society.

    Our interests range from the production, interpretation and comprehension of discourse; to its mediation through materials, media and technologies; to the role it plays in social issues of gender, class, race, identity, politics, culture, literacy, and beyond.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Dr Supriya Akerkar

    Senior Lecturer Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR), MA Development and Emergency Practice (DEP) Programme Leader

    Bjoern Asmussen

    Senior Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485897 | Email: bjoern.asmussen@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington/Clerici/CLC.2.35

    Professor Barrie Axford

    Professor of Politics
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483934 | Email: baxford@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Sylwia Ciuk

    Senior Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485814 | Email: sciuk@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC.1.19, Clerici Building, Headington Campus

    Professor Nigel Crook

    Head of the Cognitive Robotics Group, Research Lead for Computer Science
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 484530 | Email: ncrook@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Wheatley Campus

    Dr Jan Davison-Fischer

    Programme Lead Healthcare Management & CPD and Principal Lecturer Teaching Partnerships
    Phone: 01865 48 2740 | Email: j.fischer@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Marston Road

    Birgit den Outer

    Researcher/PhD student/Associate Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485736 | Email: b.den-outer@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Clerici, CLC 1.26

    Dr Barbara Eichner

    Senior Lecturer in Music
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484986 | Email: barbara.eichner@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Richard Hamilton Building

    Dr Barbara Giraud

    Senior Lecturer in French Literature (19th Century) and Cinema

    Ms Georgina Glenny

    Senior Lecturer in Childhood Studies and Literacy Difficulties
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488570 | Email: goglenny@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Roger Griffin

    Emeritus Professor in Modern History

    Dr Dai Griffiths

    Senior Lecturer in Music

    Dr Karen Handley

    Reader in Work & Organisation
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485968 | Email: khandley@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC 1.27, Clerici Building, Headington Campus

    Dr Sara Hannam

    Head of International Partnerships, Principal Lecturer
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485670 | Email: shannam@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLCG15, Clerici, Headington

    Dr James Hawes

    Reader in Creative Writing

    Dr Juliet Henderson

    Senior Lecturer Communication, Culture and Language
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488476 | Email: jhenderson@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Joy Hendry

    Emeritus Professor of Anthroplogy
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483752 | Email: jhendry@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Rico Isaacs

    Reader in Politics
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484252 | Email: ricoisaacs@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Alon Lischinsky

    Senior Lecturer in Communication and Discourse
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488739 | Email: alischinsky@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Office B2.19, B building, Harcourt Hill campus, Oxford OX2 9AT, UK

    Dr Adam Lonsdale

    Senior Lecturer in Psychology

    Dr Andrea Macrae

    Senior Lecturer in Stylistics
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484308 | Email: andrea.macrae@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Jill Millar

    Senior Lecturer in Business and Management.
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485418 | Email: jmillar@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC 1.27

    Dr Michele Paule

    Senior Lecturer in Culture, Media and Education
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488497 | Email: mpaule@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Rachel Payne

    Senior Lecturer in Education (Art)
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488339 | Email: rpayne@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Harcourt Hill Campus

    Ms Leander Reeves

    Senior Lecturer in Publishing; Subject Coordinator for Publishing Media Undergraduate Programme
    Phone: | Email: leander.reeves@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Chris Rizza

    Senior Lecturer in English Language and Communication
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488523 | Email: crizza@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Laura Spira

    Emeritus Professor

    Dr Jane Spiro

    Reader in Education and TESOL National Teaching Fellow
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488613 | Email: jspiro@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Nichola Stuart

    Senior Lecturer

    Dr Daniela Treveri Gennari

    Reader in Film Studies - Programme Lead for Film Studies and Digital Media Production
    Phone: 01865-483460 | Email: dtreveri-gennari@brookes.ac.uk | Location: RHB105

    Jeff Waistell

    Senior Lecturer Global MBA
    Phone: +44 (0) 1865 485799 | Email: jwaistell@brookes.ac.uk | Location: CLC.1.25, Clerici Building, Headington Campus

    Dr Paul Wickens

    Senior Lecturer in English Language and Communication
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484437 | Email: paulwickens@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Hannah Yelin

    Lecturer in Media and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488486 | Email: hyelin@brookes.ac.uk | Location:
  • Postgraduate research students