Department of English and Modern Languages

  • research-poetry-header_jpg
  • Oxford Brookes Poetry Centre

    Breathe-in experience, breathe-out poetry.

    Muriel Rukeyser

    The Poetry Centre was launched in 1998, and hosts an annual programme of events, including an international poetry competition, research seminars, readings and workshops, exhibitions, a Weekly Poem initiative, and community projects.

    Our past projects have included Poetry on the Bus, See How I Land: Oxford Poets and Exiled Writers, and Science Writes to Life. The Centre also instigated and co-ordinated the Oxford City Poet and Youth Ambassador for Poetry schemes from 2011–2015, and runs an undergraduate internship programme. We have recently organized conferences and symposia about landscape and poetry, modernist magazines, contemporary British poetry, and the avant-garde.

    Academics in the Department are experts in a wide range of poetry and poets. Our current activities are in the areas of poetry and technology; poetry and the environment; poetry and utopias; poetry and conflict; and the poetics of modernist drama.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Professor Nathalie Aubert

    Professor of French Literature
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483737 | Email: naubert@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Katharine Craik

    Research Lead and Reader in Early Modern Literature (1500-1750)
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484299 | Email: kcraik@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Alex Goody

    Professor of Twentieth-Century Literature
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483989 | Email: agoody@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus T4.10

    Professor Simon Kövesi

    Head of Department of English and Modern Languages
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483587 | Email: skovesi@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Tonge Building, Gipsy Lane Campus, Headington

    Dr Andrea Macrae

    Senior Lecturer in Stylistics
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484308 | Email: andrea.macrae@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Niall Munro

    Senior Lecturer in American Literature & Director of the Oxford Brookes Poetry Centre
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483433 | Email: niall.munro@brookes.ac.uk | Location: T4.17 (Tonge Building)

    Dr Simon White

    Reader in Romantic & Nineteenth-Century Literature
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484315 | Email: s.white@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Eric White

    Senior Lecturer in American Literature
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483912 | Email: ewhite@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Tonge Building T413b