Oxford School of Hospitality Management

  • Bacchus Alumni Awards 2018
  • Bacchus Alumni Awards

    After the success of last year's truly momentous occasion we invite you to join us at the next Bacchus Alumni Awards! Once again we will be celebrating the achievements of our students and graduates.

    Awards Ceremony

    On 16 April 2018, the annual Bacchus Alumni Awards took place at the Grosvenor House Hotel. The event ceremony brought together alumni, colleagues and friends of Oxford School of Hospitality Management to celebrate their achievements.

    Nomination Rules

    Nominations are now closed, and the events has passed. Thank you to everyone who nominated. Nominations closed on the 16 March 2018.

    The nomination rules were as follows:

    • Anyone can nominate;
    • You can only nominate once in each category;
    • Nominees must be graduates of the Oxford School of Hospitality Management except in the case of the Bacchus Mentor Award;
    • Nominees can be located in the UK or abroad; and
    • Nominations must be received by 16 March 2018.

    Shortlisted Candidates

    The Oxford School of Hospitality Management has revealed the shortlist for its fourth Bacchus Alumni Awards. The shortlisted candidates are:

    Major Contribution To The Hospitality Industry

    This award is for an alumnus who is a truly inspirational and respected figure, who has helped to shape the hospitality industry through their talent and commitment.

    Name Title
    Henry Ashworth President, International Alliance for Responsible Drinking (IARD)
    Dr Maureen Brookes Winner Reader, Oxford School of Hospitality Management
    Kenneth N. Ivory
    Vice President Operations, Creative Dining Services

    Manager Of The Year

    A graduate who has excelled at a management level and who has achieved considerable success in the career since leaving Oxford School of Hospitality Management.

    Name Title
    Rupert Power Winner Managing Director, Sophie’s Steakhouse
    Carmella Crisafulli Director, Investment Analysis Europe, IHG
    James Halsall Freelance Consultant
    Guy Freedman Deputy General Manager, THE PIG Hotel Hampshire
    Mathilde Maitre Director of Events & Groups, Claridge’s
    Sarah Kaplan Group Director of Rooms, Principal Hotel Company

    Rising Star Award

    A graduate who is within 5 years of leaving the Oxford School of Hospitality Management and is showing great leadership potential.

    Name Title
    Emily Coubrough Assistant Front Office Manager, The Savoy
    Gabby Bull House Manager, Soho House & Co
    Owen Farr Restaurant Manager, The Modern Pantry Clerkenwell
    Rebecca Scott Front of House Manager, Marriott Hotel Park Lane
    Will Rogers Winner Restaurant Manager, Berners Tavern at EDITION
    Matthew Rowledge Human Resources Officer, Royal Garden Hotel

    Bacchus Mentor Award

    This award seeks to recognise one of our impressive Bacchus Mentors for the exceptional support they offer to our students.

    Name Title
    Ciarán Fahy Winner Chief Executive Officer, Ellerman Hotels
    Liz McGivern Vice President Human Resources, Red Carnation Hotels
    Rakhee Patel Human Resources Manager, Grace Hotels
    Andrew Batchelor General Manager, The Landmark Hotel
    David Gambier Owner & Managing Director, Great Experience Travel
    Holly Brown Operations Manager, BaxterStorey

    Bacchus Student Award

    For the student who has contributed most to the social fabric of the Oxford School of Hospitality Management.

    Name Title
    Lydia Staniforth Winner Bacchus Society President

    Bacchus Special Award

    For someone who has given extraordinary amounts to the Oxford School of Hospitality Management and the industry at large as well as supporting and nurturing young talent.

    Name Title
    Donald Sloan Winner Founder & Director, Oxford Cultural Collective