• Research-CMC-header_jpg
  • Communication, Media and Culture

    Emerging Forms

    Communication, Media and Culture takes a uniquely interdisciplinary approach to explore the changing resources that we use to construct and reconstruct the social world.

    Much of our work is linked with new and emerging cultural formations, from ethnographic investigations of novel forms of communicative interaction, to philosophical enquiry into the potential of new media systems and technologies, to sociological research into the evolving nature of cultural practices and industries.

    Areas of particular expertise include: engagement and participatory potentials in new media forms, from online gaming to remix culture; the negotiation of intercultural identities and citizenships in a globalised world; transformation and persistence in gendered cultures; and the changing relations between humans and the non-human (technology, animals and the natural environment).

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Dr Silvia Dibeltulo

    Senior Lecturer in Communication, Media and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488535 | Email: sdibeltulo@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Diana Garrisi

    Lecturer in Communication, Media and Culture
    Phone: | Email: dgarrisi@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Ms Juliet Henderson

    Senior Lecturer Communication, Culture and Language
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488476 | Email: jhenderson@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Alon Lischinsky

    Senior Lecturer in Communication and Discourse
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488739 | Email: alischinsky@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Michele Paule

    Senior Lecturer in Culture, Media and Education
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488497 | Email: mpaule@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Chris Rizza

    Senior Lecturer in English Language and Communication
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488523 | Email: crizza@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Paul Wickens

    Senior Lecturer in English Language and Communication
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484437 | Email: paulwickens@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Andrie Yiakoumetti

    Senior Lecturer in English Language and TESOL
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484267 | Email: ayiakoumetti@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Hannah Yelin

    Lecturer in Media and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488486 | Email: hyelin@brookes.ac.uk | Location: