• Research-HealthMedicineSociety-header_jpg
  • Health, Welfare, and Society

    Medical Humanities at Brookes

    Our work reflects the recent shift in emphasis from the history of medicine to the more interdisciplinary focus of the medical humanities, involving researchers in social sciences and life sciences as well as within the School of History, Philosophy and Culture.

    We are interested in medical experimentation, biomedical research and forensic medicine, public health and hygiene, welfare and governance, mental health and healing, as well as eugenics and biopolitics from the 19th century up to the present day.

    Our researchers have a wide geographical and chronological spread of expertise, from child welfare and epidemics in early modern England and Venice to the  poor law in 19th-century Ireland , from indigenous healing to pharmaceuticals, from public health in 19th-century Britain to experiments in Nazi Germany. We also study racist ideas in 20th-century Eastern Europe, sexuality in Europe, Britain and America, and the history of psychiatry in colonial and postcolonial Asia. A programme of seminars and podcasts ensures that our findings are disseminated widely.

    Current projects include a study of subjects’ narratives of medical experimentation between the 1940s and 2001, funded by a five year Wellcome Trust Programme Grant,  Disputed Bodies , launched in January 2012.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Dr Tom Crook

    Senior Lecturer in Modern British History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484246 | Email: tcrook@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Virginia Crossman

    Professor of Modern Irish History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484226 | Email: vcrossman@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Elizabeth Darling

    Reader in Architectural History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483164 | Email: edarling@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Waltraud Ernst

    Professor in the History of Medicine, c.1700-2000
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483478 | Email: wernst@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Alysa Levene

    Reader in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483570 | Email: alevene@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Glen O'Hara

    Professor of Modern and Contemporary History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484166 | Email: glen.ohara@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Tonge Building, T535

    Dr Viviane Quirke

    Senior Lecturer in Modern History and History of Medicine
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483706 | Email: vquirke@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw

    Senior Lecturer in Early Modern European History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483686 | Email: jane.stevens-crawshaw@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Marius Turda

    Reader in 20th Century Central and Eastern European Biomedicine
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483698 | Email: mturda@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Katherine Watson

    Reader in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483709 | Email: kwatson@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Paul Weindling

    Wellcome Trust Research Professor in the History of Medicine
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483485 | Email: pjweindling@brookes.ac.uk | Location: