• Research-SocialCultural-header_jpg
  • Social and Cultural History

    Material and emotional worlds

    Our researchers working in this area investigate individuals, families, communities and institutions from social, economic, gender, and demographic perspectives in order to chart experience and change over time.

    Our work focuses upon ideas, identities, language, emotions, and material culture as ways of opening up past societies and cultures to scrutiny.

    We work on topics as diverse as child welfare, infanticide, property crime, terrorism, families and parenting, and masculinity.

    Current projects include histories of magical treasure hunting, children’s health and children’s literature, acid throwing, and shame.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Professor Joanne Begiato

    Head of School of History, Philosophy and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483732 | Email: jbegiato@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Johannes Dillinger

    Professor of Early Modern History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483484 | Email: dillinger@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Elizabeth Darling

    Reader in Architectural History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483164 | Email: edarling@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Roger Griffin

    Professor in Modern History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483581 | Email: rdgriffin@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Anne-Marie Kilday

    Professor of Criminal History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483580 | Email: akilday@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Alysa Levene

    Reader in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483570 | Email: alevene@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor David Nash

    Professor in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483584` | Email: dsnash@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw

    Senior Lecturer in Early Modern European History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483686 | Email: jane.stevens-crawshaw@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Katherine Watson

    Reader in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483709 | Email: kwatson@brookes.ac.uk | Location: