School of History, Philosophy and Culture

  • Research-SocialCultural-header_jpg
  • Social and Cultural History

    Material and emotional worlds

    Our researchers working in this area investigate individuals, families, communities and institutions from social, economic, gender, and demographic perspectives in order to chart experience and change over time.

    Our work focuses upon ideas, identities, language, emotions, and material culture as ways of opening up past societies and cultures to scrutiny.

    We work on topics as diverse as child welfare, infanticide, property crime, terrorism, families and parenting, and masculinity.

    Current projects include histories of magical treasure hunting, children’s health and children’s literature, acid throwing, and shame.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Professor Joanne Begiato

    Head of School of History, Philosophy and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483732 | Email: jbegiato@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T521

    Professor Johannes Dillinger

    Professor of Early Modern History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483484 | Email: dillinger@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T523

    Dr Elizabeth Darling

    Reader in Architectural History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483164 | Email: edarling@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T317b

    Professor Anne-Marie Kilday

    Professor of Criminal History and PVC Student and Staff Experience
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483580 | Email: akilday@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block, T451

    Dr Alysa Levene

    Reader in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483570 | Email: alevene@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block, T525

    Professor David Nash

    Professor in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483584` | Email: dsnash@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block, T451a

    Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw

    Senior Lecturer in Early Modern European History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483686 | Email: jane.stevens-crawshaw@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T527

    Dr Katherine Watson

    Reader in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483709 | Email: kwatson@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T520

    Dr Sally Holloway

    Vice Chancellor’s Research Fellow in History & History of Art
    Phone: | Email: sally.holloway@brookes.ac.uk | Location: Headington Campus, Tonge Block,T526