Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences picks up two awards at Brookes Union Teaching Awards

Thursday, 01 May 2014

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences picks up two awards at Brookes Union Teaching Awards

The Faculty had two winners on the night, each receiving a beautiful glass trophy. Dr Ian Holgate won Best Single Learning Experience for a fantastic and "inspirational" visit he organised for Art History students to the Tate Britain and Tate Modern.

Professor Anne-Marie Kilday won the Most Inspirational Lecturer award. However, given that she teaches about gangland violence, terrorism and serial killing, this is perhaps a bit concerning for law enforcement agencies across Britain.

A lecturer is only as good as their students and this year's students have been so awesome! Anne-Marie Kilday, Most Inspirational Lecturer 2014
The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences were very well represented at the Brookes Union Teaching Awards last night. Now in its second year, this event celebrates teaching and support practice across the university, and whilst it only captures a fraction of the fantastic work that goes on across the university it nevertheless is arguably a much more positive way gathering student feedback each year. Humanities and Social Sciences colleagues were nominated in every single category of award as follows: Most Inspirational Lecturer (HSS had 6 of the 13 nominations in this category):
  • John Lo Breglio
  • Mark Cain
  • Jennifer Day
  • Laura Higgins
  • Anne-Marie Kilday
  • Eric White
Best Module (HSS had 5 of the 7 nominations in this category):
  • Chara Bakalis (Medical Law)
  • Dr Wendy Che (Beginner Mandarin Chinese 1A)
  • Sumire Hori (Japanese 1A and 1B)
  • Dr Harry Mount (Reading Art History)
  • Nick Swarbrick (Outdoor Learning)
Best Single Learning Experience (5 of the 8 nominations in this category and both finalists were from the History of Art programme):
  • Jean Clark
  • Elizabeth Darling
  • Catherine Gilson
  • Ian Holgate
  • Maggie Wilson
Best Academic Advisor (3 of the 9 nominations)
  • Niall Munro
  • Michelle Paule
  • Mary Wild
Above and Beyond the Call of Duty (2 of the 6 nominations)
  • Rev Robert Bates
  • Jonathan Reid
Best Non-Academic Staff Member (1 of the 9 nominations)
  • Mandy Archer
The Most Innovative Use of Technology (1 of the 3 nominations)
  • Chris Lloyd
Congratulations to everyone nominated. Thanks to the students for their nominations and to the Brookes Union for organising the event.