Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Success at the the Brookes union teaching awards 2019

Monday, 15 April 2019

Brookes Union

Dr Laura Higgins and Dr Esteban Devis-Amaya both won top awards at the recent Brookes Union teaching awards 2019.

Dr Laura Higgins, Senior Lecturer in Modern & Contemporary Drama, was awarded the title of Best Taught Module and Dr Esteban Devis-Amaya, Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies, was awarded the title of Best Academic Adviser.

Speaking about receiving the award Laura said “I was absolutely delighted to receive this award for the Best Taught Module as I love teaching and am passionate about my subject. Theatre and Theory is a really challenging module and it’s great to know that students have been inspired by the plays and ideas we discuss and that I've been able to encourage them to think critically in new ways. To know that students have found this teaching-learning experience positive and memorable is a fantastic reward!”

The Department of English and Modern Languages received many nominations from the student body: Dr Mary Jean Chan and Dr Simon White were also nominated for 'Best Taught Module'. Dr Niall Munro, Dr Daniel O'Gorman, Professor Nathalie Aubert, Dr Irene Hill and Dr Hanako Fujino were also nominated for 'Best Academic Adviser'. Dr Antonia Mackay, Cato Marks, John LoBreglio and Dr Laura Higgins (again!) were nominated for 'Most Inspirational Lecturer'. Head of Department Dr Irene Hill was also nominated for 'Best Research or Dissertation Supervisor'.

Speaking of the department’s success in the awards Head of Department, Dr Irene Hill commented ”I would like to give huge thanks to every single student who took the time to submit a nomination and congratulate the staff of English and Modern Languages for providing such an exceptional experience to their students!”

The Brookes Union Teaching Awards were set up by Brookes Union in 2013 to celebrate the fantastic work that academic and professional services staff do for the university, and in particular the student experience. The seven categories are: Best Academic Adviser, Best Research or Dissertation Supervisor, Best Support Staff Member, Best Taught Module, Diversifying the Curriculum Champion, Most Inspirational Lecturer, and Outstanding Contribution to the Student Experience.

For more information about the Brookes Union teaching awards please see the Brookes Union website.