National Teaching Fellowship & Collaborative Award for Teaching in Excellence

  • bttconference

  • Advance HE organise and run two national level awards for recognising and rewarding teaching excellence. One is an award for an individual, the National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) scheme and the second a team award, the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE). Each year Oxford Brookes is allowed to submit up to 3 applicants for the NTF award and 1 team for the CATE award.

    The National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) Scheme celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education and has been running since 2000. The Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) recognises and rewards collaborative work that has had a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning. Introduced in 2016, the scheme highlights the key role of teamwork in higher education.

    Our latest National Teaching Fellowship winner:

    Dr Samia Kamal

    2019 National Teaching Fellowship awarded to Dr Samia Kamal

    Oxford Brookes University is proud to celebrate the award of a National Teaching Fellowship to Dr Samia Kamal for her exciting work to support students’ employability. Samia has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to helping all her learners reach their full potential. She has also been proactive in undertaking Continuing Professional Development as a University teacher. Samia has been recognised on a national level for her hard work on behalf of Brookes students and her impact across the Institution to inspire and influence her colleagues.

    Samia’s award is based upon her leadership as a female academic in the field of Computer Science, and her championing of Gandhi’s philosophy in a Western higher educational context. Dr Kamal helps every learner to ‘live a life of consequence’ as our Founder John Henry Brookes intended. Samia was also given this award for her commitment to exploring learning and teaching strategies suited to her discipline of Computer Science. In fact, she has become a beacon of expertise in the theory and practice of quality learning and teaching in her field.

    NTF winners at Brookes

    We are delighted to have 9 NTF winners at Oxford Brookes over the years. They are;

        Jane Anderson, TDE
        Marc Howe, HSS
        Berry O'Donovan, OBBS
        Jane Spiro, HSS
        Helen Walkington, HSS
        Chrisina Jayne, TDE
        Samia Kamal, TDE
        Ian Scott, HLS
        Jane Pritchard, OCSLD

    How to apply

    The deadline for submissions has closed for 2019/20 and will re-open in Autumn 2020. We will be hosting an event in June 2020 for staff wanting to find out more about the criteria and selection process for staff and teams interested in being out forward for the NTF and CATE submissions next year.

    The BTIP teaching innovation funding is an opportunity for Brookes teachers to work collectively or individually on teaching scholarship over the course of one academic year. Up to £3,000 is available.

    The BTEF teaching excellence fellowship is an opportunity to dedicate time to researching an aspect of university teaching and learning over a period of 2 years. Up to £7,000 is available.