Mechanics, Materials and Design (MMD)

Group Leader(s): Dr Neil Fellows

Contact: neil.fellows@brookes.ac.uk

About us

This group combines research expertise in mechanics, materials and design.

  • Mechanics - the group has expertise in structure-borne sound source characterisation, vibration and sound transmission and dynamic system parameter estimation.
  • Materials - the group works on the development of material manufacturing processes and investigates strain rate sensitivity, temperature dependency, residual stresses, strength, wear and fatigue life of materials and structures.
  • Design - the group has developed products to meet customer specifications in a wide range of fields from sustainable bicycles to orthopaedic supports.

Artificial knee joint testing

Research impact

Technical image of piston deformation analysis

The MMD group has developed new metal alloys and is working on elongating the life of artificial knee joint replacements. The group has many contacts with industry and has worked recently on projects such as:

  • reducing noise within electric motors
  • improving the manufacturing process of Metal Matrix Composites
  • determining the life of AGR nuclear reactor graphite bricks.

Leadership

Neil Fellows

Dr Neil Fellows

Reader in Mechanical Engineering

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Olga Barrera Senior Lecturer in Thermodynamics and Dynamics obarrera@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Colin Bell Senior Lecturer in Engineering Design cbell@brookes.ac.uk
Professor James Broughton Professor in Engineering jgbroughton@brookes.ac.uk
Professor John Durodola Professor in Mechanical Engineering and Mathematical Sciences jdurodola@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Neil Fellows Reader in Mechanical Engineering neil.fellows@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Shpend Gerguri Reader in Engineering Design sgerguri@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Douglas Higgison Principal Lecturer and Undergraduate Programme Lead dhiggison@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Allan Hutchinson Professor - Head of Sustainable Vehicle Engineering Centre arhutchinson@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Alessio Peluso Lecturer in Engineering apeluso@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Marco Raugei Senior Research Fellow in Mechanical Engineering marco.raugei@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Stephen Samuel Reader in Mechanical Engineering s.samuel@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Anand Thite Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering athite@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Michael Todinov Professor in Mechanical Engineering mtodinov@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Iakovos Tzanakis Professor in Engineering Materials itzanakis@brookes.ac.uk