• Fundamental Rights and Equality

    The Fundamental Rights and Equality Group (FREG) comprises academics, doctoral researchers and honorary fellows working within the fields of human rights, equality, migration and law and religion. The group provides a leading research forum in areas related to fundamental rights and equality. Hosting conferences, events and lecturers the group brings together academics, practitioners and policy makers to debate emerging research challenges. Our conception of human rights is broad - our guest speakers' topics have ranged from international environmental law to transitional justice – but what underpins the ethos of the group is consideration of the interplay between human rights and equality at domestic, European and international levels.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Dr Mariya Ali

    Honorary Knowledge Exchange Associate

    Dr Yue Ang

    Senior Lecturer in Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484904 | Email: yang@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Ms Chara Bakalis

    Principal Lecturer in Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484679 | Email: cbakalis@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Brigitte Clark

    Senior Lecturer in Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484816 | Email: bclark@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Meryll Dean

    Professor Emerita

    Professor Peter Edge

    Professor of Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484905 | Email: pwedge@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Michael John-Hopkins

    Senior Lecturer in Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484903 | Email: john-hopkins@brookes.ac.uk | Location: School of Law, Headington Hill Hall, Oxford

    Dr Sonia Morano-Foadi

    Reader in European Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484621 | Email: smorano-foadi@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Derek O'Brien

    Reader in Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484912 | Email: do'brien@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Mr Mark O'Brien

    Head of School of Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484941 | Email: mark.obrien@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Shirley Shipman

    Principal Lecturer (Student Experience) and Programme Lead (Law)
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484918 | Email: sshipman@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Lucy Vickers

    Professor of Law
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 484913 | Email: lrvickers@brookes.ac.uk | Location: