Degree classification

  • Changing the current programmes’ structure to a model clearly based on distinct levels of study implies that the current degree classification system must be modified, moving to a system that gives specific weight to each level of study.

    From a variety of analysed weightings, the one that has a higher resemblance to our current model and has the potential to slightly close the attainment gap amongst under-represented groups and other student categories with protected characteristics and the rest of our student population is:

    Level of study


    Level 4 0%
    Level 5 25%
    Level 6 75%
    Parameters No dropping marks
    No additional exit velocity

    This option recognises that students are progressing towards the most difficult elements of their degree, but have spent time building up the requisite knowledge and skills and should be, by Level 6, able to complete the most challenging aspects. The rationale for applying 25% to Level 5 is to recognise that by Level 5 students will have studied for sufficient time in order for their work to contribute to their final degree classification and that the year serves as an important building block into the final year.

    The new degree classification system for Integrated Masters Programmes maintains a similar structure of the current model includes the new degree classification for undergraduate programmes, but also maintains an equal weight total average is:

    Integrated Masters

    The proposed degree classification will be decided on an equal weighting of:

    • The overall weighted summation of the calculated average from the Level 5 weighted modules (25%) and triple-weighted Level 6 modules (75%).
    • The average of the marks obtained in all six Level 7 module credits.