Underlying principles

  • Principles of Workstream C

    The principles of Workstream C are as follows:

    1. Progression should be based upon a linear model of progress through discrete levels of study. Programmes will be designed upon Levels 4, 5 and 6 (equating to years 1, 2 and 3) with clearly expressed programme outcomes by Level describing threshold skills, knowledge and competencies. The structural concept of Stage 1 and Stage 2 will no longer apply.
    2. The minimum number of Level 6 credits students must pass to graduate will increase from 90 to 120.
    3. All Programmes will have a compulsory Semester 1 for students entering Level 4.
    4. The range and status of modules in UG programmes should operate within clearly defined parameters at each level. Programmes will feature a combination of Compulsory and Optional modules.
    5. There will be minimum limit of Compulsory modules (that faculties can choose to exceed).
    6. There will be maximum limit of Optional modules (that faculties can work within but not exceed). The design emphasis will thus be on a more organised model of choice moving away from an emphasis on ‘choice above all else’.
    7. Progression rules should be simplified with the deployment of pre- or co-requisite modules superseded by a well-defined core of compulsory modules.

    Single Honours Programmes

    The principles for single honours programme structure and design are as follows:

    • Level 4: Compulsory Modules x 6 (minimum); Optional Modules x 2 (maximum, from a choice of 4)
    • Level 5: Compulsory Modules x 4 (minimum); Optional Modules x 4 (maximum, from a choice of 8)
    • Level 6: Compulsory Modules x 2 (minimum); Optional Modules x 6 (maximum, from a choice of 10)

    This can also be expressed in terms of module credits to recognise (for example) 30 credit modules:

    • Level 4: Compulsory Module Credits x 90 (minimum); Optional Module Credits x 30 (maximum, from a choice of 60)
    • Level 5: Compulsory Module Credits x 60 (minimum); Optional Module Credits x 60 (maximum, from a choice of 120)
    • Level 6: Compulsory Module Credits x 30 (minimum); Optional Module Credits x 90 (maximum, from a choice of 150)

    Colleagues should be aware that future programme structures will employ a reduced range of terms to describe module status. Within the new Student Record System, only the terms Compulsory and Optional will be available to us and that is consistent with the commitment to enhance the logic and structure of our programmes to students.

    Combined Honours Programmes

    Whilst the majority of future students at Brookes will be studying either single honours or named interdisciplinary awards, there remains a significant market interest in studying subjects in combination. The combined offer will be rooted in the same principles and structures of programme design intended to enhance student progression, transition and attainment through three levels of study as the single honours awards.

    • Students will not combine subjects freely. Only specific combinations of Subjects will be advertised through UCAS and the university website
    • Each combination will have a named academic who will be responsible for the student experience and quality assurance of that combination
    • Each combination will need to have a Programme Specification that describes the programme details, including the entry requirements, learning outcomes, curriculum structure, and details of how the programme will be taught and assessed
    • All students must undertake a minimum of 30 credits from each contributing subject at each Level.
    • There will be no pre-requisite status in the new awards. In consequence, modules that students cannot successfully engage in based upon the compulsory content should not be listed as Options in the combined awards.


    • The existing titles of Major and Minor will no longer pertain.
      • The list of Compulsory and Optional modules that constitute the combined offer for any programme cannot vary from one combination to another
      • The modules made available as the combined offer will be validated as part of the Programme Specifications for the Single Honours programmes
      • A new programme level regulation will ensure that students take 30 CATs of dissertation modules, this could be a double dissertation from either subject or 2 x interdisciplinary dissertations. At the subject level dissertations will have 'optional' status
      • Students on Combined programmes will adhere to the same dates for module selection as all single honours students.