Staff Harassment Advisers

  • Staff Harassment Advisers (SHAs) are staff who have volunteered their time to provide an information service to staff who feel they are experiencing (or have witnessed) unwanted behaviour as well as to staff who have been accused of unwanted behaviour. The same adviser will not provide support to both the complainant and the alleged perpetrator.


    Staff Harassment Adviser:

    • Provides an impartial and confidential listening ear outside of the usual university structures and services;
    • Provides information on the options that are available;
    • Assists those seeking advice in thinking those options through, but respects the wishes of the member of staff.

    A Staff Harassment Adviser cannot:

    • Make judgements about the legitimacy of a complaint or act as an investigator (staff nominated by the People Directorate would undertake any formal investigations);
    • Provide counselling. If the SHA feels a member of staff might benefit from counselling, they can signpost them to the Occupational Health Service;
    • Act as an advocate – they provide informal support only and cannot meet with other parties to the situation;
    • Meet with members of staff outside of office hours or outside of the university premises. Online meetings can be set up using the University Google Meet facilities.

    Contacting a Staff Harassment Adviser

    Details of the SHAs are given below (staff are based at the Headington Campus unless otherwise indicated).  You can contact one of the SHAs directly in confidence.  They work on a cross-University basis, so you do not have to contact someone from your own faculty or directorate.

    Name Email address Phone number Role
    Colleen Berrington cberrington@brookes.ac.uk 4945 Operations Officer, Directorate of Marketing, Recruitment and Engagement
    Mary Briggs mbriggs@brookes.ac.uk 8597 Principal Lecturer (HSS/Harcourt)
    Ruth Collins ruthcollins@brookes.ac.uk 4310 Academic Administration Manager (TDE)
    Vicki Farmilo vfarmilo@brookes.ac.uk 5073 Academic Liaison Librarian
    Wes Fraser wfraser@brookes.ac.uk 3727 Senior Lecturer (HSS)
    Judie Gannon jmgannon@brookes.ac.uk 3837 Senior Lecturer (OBBS)
    Sara Hannam shannam@brookes.ac.uk 5670 Head of International Partnership Development (OBBS)
    Aindreas O’Donovan aodonovan@brookes.ac.uk 4650 Head of Mental Health and Wellbeing Support, Academic and Student Administration
    Warren Rödel wrodel@brookes.ac.uk 2968 Student Disputes Officer (ASA)
    Lorna Shires lshires@brookes.ac.uk 8315 Principal Lecturer (HSS/Harcourt)
    Sonia Morgan s.morgan@brookes.ac.uk 07825 781998 Senior Category Analyst, Finance and Legal Services
    Sarah Whitmore swhitmore@brookes.ac.uk 3747 Reader, Humanities and Social Sciences

    Additional points of contact

    If you are a member of a trade union, you can seek advice, support and representation from your TU representative.  Recognised unions for Oxford Brookes are UCU and UNISON.

    For general advice, you can also contact your link in the People Directorate..