International English Club

  • Have you found the British can be very strange? Do you want to celebrate Chinese New Year with friends from all over the world? Are you a fan of Mr Bean?

    These are just some of the things that you can be involved with at the International English Club (IEC). The IEC is a group for international students on campus. It is a great place to meet new people from all over the world, to practise your English, to learn about British culture and customs, and to share about your own culture!

    The IEC is part of the Multifaith Chaplaincy. It is run by a friendly group of local Christian volunteers, and is for people from all faiths and those who do not follow a particular religion. Each week we will look at a new topic, play some games, and have time to talk and make friends.

    When and where?

    We are running a mix of in-person and online events: click here to sign up to the IEC mailing list to receive details of where to meet for our events. Our regular Monday evening event is in St. Ebbe's Headington (OX3 7AE). Keep checking this page for details of our events in semester 1.

    Semester 1, 2021

    Event Date  Time Location
    Oxford Colleges Walk Sunday 12 September  14.00-16.00 Sign up to the mailing list
    Welcome Meal Tuesday 21 September  19.00 Sign up to the mailing list
    City Walk Monday 27th September  18.00 Meet in front of the JHB building
    Welcome to Oxford  Monday 4th October  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Getting to Know You  Monday 11th October  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Chocolate Fondu Monday 18th October  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Round the World Quiz Monday 25th October  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Fireworks Night (joint event) Tuesday 2nd November  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Understanding the English  Monday 8th November  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Pub Quiz Evening Monday 15th November  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Cream Tea and Games Monday 22nd November  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 
    Marble Race Monday 29th November  20.00 - 21.30  St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE 

    Christmas Games

    Monday 6th December  20.00 - 21.30

    St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE

    Christmas PartyTuesday 14th December 20.00 - 21.30St. Ebbe's Headington, OX3 7AE