Awards and accolades

Many of our academics are trail blazers, internationally recognised for what they bring to their field. Their achievements include:

science flask icon

1 of 100 leading practising scientists

Oxford Brookes Vice Chancellor, Professor Alistair Fitt, was placed in the top 100 by the Science Council in 2014.

Just 7 departments nationally

were recognised in 2015 by the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors as having sustainable development principles embedded in its curriculum and research. Oxford Brookes' Real Estate and Construction department was one of them.

crane icon

Ranked 3rd nationally and 5th internationally

the Oxford Brookes MBA maintained its QS Distance Learning online rankings for the second year running.

medals icon

The Royal Microscopical Society’s highest award

went to Professor Chris Hawes, Director of Research for the Centre for Ecology Environment, in 2015 for “exceptional contributions to plant sciences”. He becomes one of only 65 individuals eligible to be an RMS Honorary Fellow at any time.

Winning the Fulbright-Peabody Award

Dr Patrick Alexander from the School of Education has received the 2014 Fulbright-Peabody Award from the US-UK Fulbright Commission. One of the most prestigious programmes operating worldwide, the award gives him the opportunity to research how schooling in New York and London shapes the aspirations and world views of final year inner-city school students.

trophy icon

Our National Teaching Fellows total 8

Senior Lecturer in Law, Marc Howe, is the latest person to be awarded a National Teaching Fellowship by the Higher Education Academy in 2015. The total number of academics at Oxford Brookes with the award now stands at eight.

molecules icon

A passion for science

Biologist Dr Louise Hughes won the international New England Bioscience Passion in Science Award 2014 for her groundbreaking work using 3-D models to bring the microscopic world of organisms to life. Her work was featured in the Science Uncovered exhibition at the Natural History Museum in London.

wind turbine icon

1 of 13 international experts

Professor of Sustainable Architecture and Climate Change, Rajat Gupta, was voted into the Building4Change 2013 Virtual Academy of Excellence and joins 13 international experts recognised for work on sustainability and the built environment.

BBC Expert Women at Oxford Brookes

Tina Miller, Professor of Sociology, and Harriet Harriss, Senior Lecturer in Architecture, were selected from thousands of applicants to become two of just 60 members of the BBC Expert Women scheme.

Joining Charles Darwin, Marie Curie and Albert Einstein

as member of The German National Academy of Sciences, the Leopoldina, in 2015 was Paul Weindling, Research Professor in the History of Medicine. He will be working with the Leopoldina's Science Centre to develop collaborative research on the victims of Nazi medical experiments, thanks to an Anneliese Maier Research Award.

stethoscope icon