• Lunchbyte programme Semester 1 Nov - Dec 2018

    Headington Campus

    Library Help Zone Training Area unless otherwise stated.

    VR tours - get the full 360 on how it's done

    • When? Tuesday 6 Nov 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 14 Nov 12:00-13:00
    • Discover some of the ways to easily construct 360-degree VR tours using Google 360, Storyspheres and the amazing piece of online loveliness that is Ocurus.
    • Chef: Melanie Bashor

    Sway - easy, fast content creation

    • When? Tuesday 20 Nov 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 28 Nov 12:00-13:00
    • We all need to make visually appealing presentations, and Microsoft Sway enables us to create them quickly and easily, then share them on the Internet for free. 
    • Chef: Gerard Helmich

    Organisational tools

    • When? Tuesday 4 Dec 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 12 Dec 12:00-13:00
    • Discover the advantages of tools like Coggle (for creating and sharing mindmaps and flow charts) and Trello (a collaborative planning tool for organising and tracking teams tasks, files, and information).
    • Chef: Melanie Bashor

    See a list of previous TEG sessions


  • Lunchbyte programme Semester 2 Feb - May 2018

    Headington Campus

    Library Help Zone Training Area unless otherwise stated.

    Lectures at Large: the return of the green screen

    • Where? Forum Library Training Room JHBB09
    • When? Tuesday 13 Feb 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 21 Feb 12:00-13:00
    • Indulge in a bit of 70s nostalgia with a new look at the tried and tested Chroma Key or "green screen" technique to enliven your video presentations.
    • Chef: Richard Francis

    What happened in Vegas...

    • When? Wednesday 28 Feb 12:00-13:00 and Tuesday 6 Mar 12:00-13:00
    • Find out what Harry saw at the CES 2018 show in Las Vegas. What happens in Vegas doesn't always stay in Vegas!
    • Chef: Harry Kalantzis

    That's aurasome!

    • When? Tuesday 13 Mar 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 21 Mar 12:00-13:00
    • Augmented Reality (AR) for the rest of us with HP Reveal. A new take on digital signposting.
    • Chefs: Harry Kalantzis and Richard Francis

    Disentangling the Internet

    • When? Wednesday 28 Mar 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 11 Apr 12:00-13:00
    • Being connected 24/7 feels like a necessity but sifting through the daily tangle of information can be a daunting task. Does sometimes disconnecting necessarily mean becoming disconnected?
    • Chef: Shani Davis

    Here's a ToDo

    • When? Tuesday 10 Apr 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 18 Apr 12:00-13:00
    • Stay organised with this review of task management/todo list apps.
    • Chef: Isabel Virgo

    Reimaging your Research in Augmented Reality with the Merge Cube

    • When? Wednesday 2 May 12:00-13:00
    • Description: Augmented and Virtual Reality platforms are creating exciting new spaces for experimentation and innovation in teaching, re-imagining research data and engaging the wider public in what we do..
    • Chef: Tudor Georgescu

    TEG extra: Screencastify

    • When? Tuesday 20th Feb and Wednesday 7 Mar 12:00-13:00
    • Screencast your online assignment feedback with live text-highlighting and video inserts. A game changer for stressed-out lecturers?
    • Chef: Patrick Cheeseman

    TEG Extra: InStePP ePioneers - because innovation with technology is most effective when it's a partnership.

    • When? Thursday 26 Apr 12:00-13:00
    • To ensure that students receive and can produce consistently high-quality digital learning content, the University asked the PESE Student Experience focus group 'What elements should every Moodle module have in common?' One of their recommendations was that lecturers' presentations should be viewable on Moodle without needing to be downloaded. In this, his first commission as a Brookes ePioneer, Jason Okwuonu investigates ways to do this and reports his findings.
    • Chefs: Jason Okwuonu and Melanie Bashor


  • Lunchbyte programme Semester 1 Sept - Dec 2017

    Headington Campus

    Library Help Zone Training Area unless otherwise stated.

    Castles in the air

    • Where? JHB111
    • When? Tuesday 3 Oct 12:30-13:30 and Wednesday 11 Oct 12:30-13:30
    • Construct your own 3D VR world with Google Blocks. Complex 3D objects (even castles) can be built from basic geometric shapes with this easy-to-use VR application.
    • Chefs: Gerard Helmich and Richard Francis

    Mobile Photogrammetry

    • Where? JHB111
    • When? Tuesday 17 Oct 12:30-13:30 and Tuesday 24 Oct 12:30-13:30
    • Yet another thing you didn't know you needed your smartphone for. Make 3D models out of real-world objects with your smartphone camera and Autodesk Recap.
    • Chefs: Gerard Helmich and Richard Francis

    Finding the mark

    • When? Wednesday 1 Nov 12:00-13:00 and Tuesday 7 Nov 12:00-13:00
    • How to to set bookmarks in long Google documents and link to them from a Moodle activity, webpage or other document.
    • Chefs: Richard Francis and Melanie Bashor

    Untangling the Internet

    • When? Tuesday 14 Nov 12:00-13:00 and Wednesday 22 Nov 12:00-13:00
    • Being connected 24/7 feels like a necessity but sifting through the daily tangle of information can be a daunting task. Does sometimes disconnecting necessarily mean becoming disconnected?
    • Chef: Shani Davis

    Smart inboxes

    • When? Tuesday 5 Dec 12:00-13:00 
    • Fancy an always empty inbox? Here’s how to keep your inbox clear but still stay up to date with your mail (well, no guarantees!).
    • Chef: Tamsin Rothery