• Research-HistoryofArt-header_jpg
  • History of Art and Visual Culture

    Art and Society

    In recent years art history has developed from a concentration on style and connoisseurship to incorporate interdisciplinary approaches to the relationship between art and society, investigating a wide range of images and artefacts beyond the traditional category of fine art.

    The diversity of activity here reflects this opening up of the discipline. We work on a range of topics from the 15th to the 20th centuries, including the connections between sculpture, paintings and prints in the Italian Renaissance, the relationship between urban space and the environment, the impact of the Reformation on church architecture and furnishings, and modernity in architecture and design in 1930s Britain.

    Our researchers have pursued monographic studies of individual artists and architects (Michelangelo, Joshua Reynolds, Joseph Wright of Derby, John Brett, Wells Coates) and wider thematic studies of Renaissance plaquettes, 18th-century funerary monuments, and 19th-century landscape painting.

    Curating work includes loan exhibitions in Bristol, Birmingham and London and the travelling exhibitions of the Methodist Collection of Modern Christian Art, which is in the care of the University.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Dr Elizabeth Darling

    Reader in Architectural History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483164 | Email: edarling@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Peter Forsaith

    Research Fellow of the Oxford Centre for Methodism and Church History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488319 | Email: pforsaith@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Ian Holgate

    Senior Lecturer in History of Art
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483465 | Email: iholgate@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Marika Leino

    Senior Lecturer in History of Art
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483571 | Email: mleino@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Harry Mount

    Programme Lead in History and History of Art
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483586 | Email: htmount@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Christiana Payne

    Professor of History of Art
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483582 | Email: cjepayne@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Charles Robertson

    Senior Lecturer in History of Art
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483582 | Email: cdrobertson@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Andrew Spicer

    Professor of Early Modern European History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483590 | Email: aspicer@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw

    Senior Lecturer in Early Modern European History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483686 | Email: jane.stevens-crawshaw@brookes.ac.uk | Location: