• Research-Religion-header_jpg
  • Religion

    Faith and Experience

    How have religious faith and experience motivated people in the past, and how do they continue to influence people today?

    Our work emphasizes the variety and diversity of religious expressions, including the Protestant and Catholic divisions in post-Reformation Christianity, the relationship between religion, the state and politics, new religious movements and the philosophical basis for faith and religion.

    The  Oxford Centre for Methodism and Church History  holds major archives and art collections, produces a journal, Wesley and Methodist Studies, and hosts regular conferences.

    Our academic staff have published very widely on topics such as sacred space, witchcraft in the early modern period, religion and the state in the eighteenth century, Methodism in the eighteenth century, theological responses to Nazism, religion and psychoanalysis, the material and visual cultures of religion, blasphemy, and secularism.

    Current research projects include the eighteenth century church and sex, the religious culture of Europe in the seventeenth century, and Freud and feminism.

  • Academic staff with related research interests

    Professor Joanne Begiato

    Head of School of History, Philosophy and Culture
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483732 | Email: jbegiato@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Robert Bates

    Chaplain, Senior Lecturer in Religion and Theology and Senior Lecturer in Primary English
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488349 | Email: rgbates@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Dominic Corrywright

    Principal Lecturer, Religious Studies
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488358 | Email: dcorrywright@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Johannes Dillinger

    Professor of Early Modern History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483484 | Email: dillinger@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Dr Peter Forsaith

    Research Fellow of the Oxford Centre for Methodism and Church History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488319 | Email: pforsaith@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor William Gibson

    Professor of Ecclesiastical History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 488610 | Email: wgibson@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor David Nash

    Professor in History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483584` | Email: dsnash@brookes.ac.uk | Location:

    Professor Andrew Spicer

    Professor of Early Modern European History
    Phone: +44 (0)1865 483590 | Email: aspicer@brookes.ac.uk | Location: