Medicine, Health and Society Research

About us


Our work reflects the recent shift in emphasis from the history of medicine to a more interdisciplinary focus, involving research in Social Sciences and Life Sciences as well as within History, Philosophy, and Culture.

We are interested in medical experimentation, biomedical research and forensic medicine, public health and hygiene, welfare and governance, mental health and healing, as well as eugenics and biopolitics up to the present day. We also study ideas about race, sexuality, and gender in Europe, Britain and America.

Edward Jenner vaccinating a boy, by E.E. Hillemacher (1884)

Related courses

Research impact

Lazaretto: An account of the principal lazarettos in Europe, by John Howard (1789)

Our researchers have a wide geographical and chronological spread of expertise: from child welfare and epidemics in early modern England and Renaissance Italy to disease and illness in contemporary culture; from traditional healing to modern pharmaceuticals (including interactions between western and indigenous medicine in South Africa); from public health in 19th-century Britain to experiments in Nazi Germany; from western psychiatry to psychiatry in colonial and postcolonial Asia. Our outreach and public engagement activities ensure that our findings are disseminated widely.

Recent projects include a study of subjects’ narratives of medical experimentation between the 1940s and 2001, funded by a five year Wellcome Trust Programme Grant,  Disputed Bodies , launched in January 2012, and completed in 2017.

Leadership

Viviane Quirke

Dr Viviane Quirke

Senior Lecturer in Modern History and History of Medicine

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Tom Crook Reader in Modern British History tcrook@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Anne Digby Professor Emerita in History adigby@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Waltraud Ernst Professor Emerita in the History of Medicine, c.1700-2000 wernst@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Alysa Levene Reader and Interim Programme Lead for Philosophy, Criminology and Culture alevene@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Glen O'Hara Professor of Modern and Contemporary History glen.ohara@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Viviane Quirke Senior Lecturer in Modern History and History of Medicine vquirke@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw Senior Lecturer in Early Modern European History jane.stevens-crawshaw@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Marius Turda Professor in 20th Century Central and Eastern European Biomedicine mturda@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Katherine Watson Reader in History kwatson@brookes.ac.uk
Paul Weindling Research Professor in the History of Medicine pjweindling@brookes.ac.uk

Image Credits

  1. Three perspectives of a head divided according to phrenological 'faculties', with key. (n.d.)
  2. Edward Jenner vaccinating a boy, by E.E. Hillemacher (1884)
  3. Lazaretto: An account of the principal lazarettos in Europe, by John Howard (1789)

(all from https://wellcomecollection.org/images)