OB1 Live 20: Northway Construction Hoardings

This project involved a collaboration between students, local residents in Oxford’s Northway, GreenSquare Group developers and Stepnell Construction in order to design and build an interactive, three dimensional hoarding around a significant housing development at Northway, Oxford. Despite adverse weather conditions, the hoarding was installed across the length of the park at Northway for the duration of the semester to provide alternative facilities and recreation for local people while their Community Centre was enclosed by the construction site hoardings. Local children, dog walkers, nature lovers, sport enthusiasts, music and book lovers and many more were catered for by the hoarding installations and the response from the public via text and social media was very positive.

“Just a quick note to thank you and your students for the creative and innovative display that brightens up my early morning walk on Northway field. I have sent you pictures of my dog….who has selected this project as his favourite through selecting a poo bag and ball to play with before returning for a drink…..Well done everyone they are all very enjoyable and cleverly designed with much appreciation” (Text from local resident).

The hoardings were exhibited at half scale as part of the Outburst Festival at the Pegasus Theatre on 5-7 May 2015.

Consultations and the public’s reception of the hoarding project informed a final project todesign an alternative community centre for Northway on the redevelopment site. Proposals for this included growing spaces, skater spaces and refugee kitchens.

February - May 2015


Jester Abayri, Frances Abrahamsen, Ibrahim Ahmadu, Nicole Akano, Bronte Allen, Hollie Allen, Amy Allwood, Parmida Amininavaie, Sofie Arnevig, Jade Bailey, James Barrell, Nathan Bentley, Ralph Berryman, Katherine Birkett, Ayanna Blair-Ford, Henry Blazey, Calum Bluck, Kasandra Bolivar, Ioana Bucuriou, Naomi Cessford, Olivia Chan, Lok Yee Cheng, Louisa Chessher, Maria Ciarlegio, Marco Da Silva Rosa, Gina Dahl, Isis Dapling, Beth Dawson, Enrique De La Cueva, Marie de Montaigne de Poncins, Holly Drinkwater, Oliver East, Charles Edmonds, Mahgoub El-Badawi, Iago Ferreira Souza, William Flindall, Alexander Fordham, Michael Forward, Amber Godfrey, Isabel Gomez, Alexandra Goodey, Stephany Govier, Douglas Haynes, Francesca Heaver, Rose Helps, Emily Herridge, Harry Hinton-Hard, Chrlotte Hubbard, Fraser Ingram, Francesca Jacobs, Amy Johnson, Andranik Kazaryan, Joseph Kelly, Misha Khaliq, Alyssa Kirton, Zuzanna Krzyzanowska, Hong Jiang Lang, Tony Le, Una Ledaal, Leionie Linder, Thomas Linzey, Keith Lyons, Sophie Macpherson, Mahomad Moin Rafik, Makarouni Eirini, Theodora Makrimaria, Abdelrahman Malhas, Shaun Matthews, Isabel Mendes Quadrado, Raluca Moldoveanu, Shenton Morgan, Sergiu Moscaliuc, Hilton Murrell, Catriona Musoko, Olivia Neale, Hio Ian Ngai, Isaac Niwaku, Shahad Osman, Nosimilo Julie Oti, Jonathan Pascoe, Nayan Patel, Ellen Phillips, Jacob Ralph, Frances Reynolds, Jack Robson, Anna Romanou, Elizaveta Romanova, Craig Ross, Muhammad Usman, Abigail Sayers, Dominik Scigala, Felix Scobie, Yee Yong See, Maite Seimetz, Tariq Shah, Jack Smith, Victoria Smith, Malgorzata Socha, Amy Speed, Beth Starling, Annabelle Stillman-Jones, Gabriel Stuart, Yu Jin Sung, Hootan Tayebi, Andrew Taylor, Mollie Taylor, Shi Ying Teo, Edward Thrower, Chenene Tryndell, Edward Tse, Maise Mudge, Melisa Turkay, Arandeep Virdee, Molly Ward, Kevin Wong, Megan Wright, Xiaomeng Wu, Massine Yallaoui, Frederick Young.


Councillor Farida Anwar (Oxford City Council), Councillor Roy Darke (Oxford City Council), Marita Ford (GreenSquare Group), Richard Grant (GreenSquare Group), Councillor Mark Lygo (Oxfordshire District Council), Mark Mclean (Stepnell Construction).


Local residents of Northway, Oxford.


Jane Anderson, Dr. Orestes Chouchoulas, Ruth Cuenca, Dr. Orsalia Dimitriou, Rob Houmøller, Peter Merrett, Pouya Zamanpour

Commissioned by



Oxford Brookes School of Architecture.