Applied Social Psychology

Group Leader(s): Dr Adam Baimel

Contact: abaimel@brookes.ac.uk

About us

We investigate the way that individuals’ beliefs, dispositions, actions and aspirations are intertwined with their immediate social groups and their wider culture. Our researchers focus on contemporary social problems, applying their theoretical and methodological knowledge with a view to enhancing people’s lives.

Banner reading "UK combating coronavirus"

Research impact

Hand holding a tree seedling

Our research findings have informed policy, underpinned strategy development for a variety of stakeholders and have helped change people’s lives for the better. You can find more information about 3 current projects below, each of which have impact at their heart. They are run by Prof. Guida de Abreu, Dr. Adam Baimel and Prof. Vincent Connelly.

  • Prof. de Abreu is leading a strand of an international research project aiming to improve the lives of migrant children who act as translators for their peers, family, and the local community.
  • Dr Baimel is examining how religious meaning systems are adapting to the climate crisis.
  • Prof. Connelly is investigating the experiences of front-line NHS staff who were working in teams during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Leadership

Adam Baimel

Dr Adam Baimel

Early Career Research Fellow

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Mark Burgess Reader in Psychology mark.burgess@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Vincent Connelly Professor & Programme Lead for Psychology vconnelly@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Emma Davies Senior Lecturer in Psychology edavies@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Guida de Abreu Professor in Cultural Psychology gabreu@brookes.ac.uk
Kelly Lambert Researcher klambert@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Johnny Lawson Senior Lecturer - Psychology jlawson@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Adam Lonsdale Senior Lecturer in Psychology alonsdale@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Stefan Schilling Research Fellow sschilling@brookes.ac.uk

Projects

Active projects

Project title and description Investigator(s) Funder(s) Dates

Covid-19 teams in the NHS

This UK-wide study aims to understand the implications of working in Covid-19 teams for leadership, team-working, career intentions and individual mental health.
Professor Vincent Connelly ESRC From: November 2020

New ABC - Networking the educational world: Across boundaries for community-building

The NEW ABC project will carry out 9 innovation actions in 9 EU countries aimed at enhancing the inclusion of refugee and migrant children and young people into host societies through education. The impossibility for children and teenagers to learn experiment, develop and freely foster their capacities, talents and aspirations (Save the Children 2017), is one fundamental factor in how these inequalities contribute to determine lack of integration and undermine the future of immigrant and underprivileged children.
Professor Guida de Abreu Horizon 2020 From: January 2021
Until: August 2024

The greening of religions: A cross-cultural test of when, how, and with what consequences religious

Dr Adam Baimel Issachar From: March 2020
Until: August 2023