Space and Temporalities

About us


The Space and Temporalities (SaT) research cluster sits within Oxford Brookes’ Centre for Environment and Society (CES).  As a cluster, we draw on disciplinary positionalities from across the humanities and social sciences including human geography, social/cultural anthropology, sociology, international relations, politics, history, criminology and philosophy, as well as creative fields such as art and theatre. In this context, we seek to engage with the work of scholars and others who locate aspects of their research within the intersections between ‘space’ and ‘temporality’.  

Whilst this opens up a variety of possibilities, examples might include the spatial/temporal experiences of workers engaged in forms of precarious and/or informal labour, (re)configurations of urban space, the relationship between spatial/temporal experiences of migration and migrants' subjectivities, conceptions of 'home', spatial and temporal aspects of social inequality and marginalisation, or relations between humans and non-humans.

Our primary forum comprises a bi-annual workshop which enables networking, aids the development of research trajectories, fosters collaborative grant applications and facilitates knowledge exchange. In addition to the bi-annual workshop, the cluster also organises smaller special events and seminars around more focused themes which speak in specific ways to the intersection of space and temporality, including events targeted at supporting early career researchers. Across all these areas, we emphasise the value of research longevity, innovation and collaboration. 

Migrant workers in Dubai

Related courses

Leadership

Thomas Chambers

Dr Thomas Chambers

Senior Lecturer in Anthropology

View profile

Melanie Nowicki

Dr Mel Nowicki

Senior Lecturer in Urban Geography

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Patrick Alexander Reader in Education & Director, Centre for Educational Consultancy and Development (CECD); Research Lead palexander@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Barrie Axford Emeritus Professor of Politics baxford@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Joanne Begiato Interim Associate Dean (Research and Knowledge Exchange) jbegiato@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Dan Bulley Reader in International Relations dbulley@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Cant Senior Lecturer in Human Geography sarah.cant@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Richard Carver Reader in Human Rights and Governance rcarver@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jason Danely Senior Lecturer in Anthropology of Japan jdanely@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Ellen Gordon-Bouvier Senior Lecturer in Law e.gordon-bouvier@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Chris Hesketh Programme Lead for International Relations, Politics and Sociology chesketh@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Laura Higgins Senior Lecturer in Modern & Contemporary Drama lhiggins@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Kotsakis Senior Lecturer in Law akotsakis@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Peter Leary Vice Chancellor's Research Fellow in History pleary@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Antonia Mackay Teaching Fellow in English Literature antoniamackay@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Niall Munro Senior Lecturer in American Literature & Director of the Oxford Brookes Poetry Centre niall.munro@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Daniel O'Gorman Vice Chancellor Research Fellow in English Literature dogorman@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Spicer Professor of Early Modern European History aspicer@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw Senior Lecturer in Early Modern European History jane.stevens-crawshaw@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Simon White Reader in Romantic & Nineteenth-Century Literature s.white@brookes.ac.uk

Students

Name Thesis Title Supervisors Completed
Jennifer Wong A transnational poetics of place: identity, otherness and the meaning of home in the poetry of Li-Young Lee, Marilyn Chin, Bei Dao, Hannah Lowe and Sarah Howe Professor Alex Goody, Dr Niall Munro

Active

Susan Campbell Gertrude Stein, spatial form and contemporary prose poetry Professor Alex Goody, Dr Niall Munro

Active

Research impact

The clusters research impact is focused around 5 areas:

Research environment


A creative and outward-looking research environment lies at the core of our impact strategy. The Space and Temporalities cluster collaborates with other research clusters, groups and University-wide networks to enhance impact and research progression. By bringing together researchers from across the arts, humanities and social sciences, we not only foster interdisciplinary exchange but also share skills and experiences around delivering meaningful impact within and beyond academia.   

Research environment

Collaborative working


Space and Temporalities is grounded upon an ethos of collaborative working. The cluster gives a strong emphasis to developing partnerships with various organisations and stakeholders. Many of our members have active projects which connect with partners both in the UK and globally. This includes past and present collaborations with, for example, the International Labour Organisation, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Law Society Family Law Committee and Dublin City Council.

Collaborative working

Policy and agenda setting


Much of the work undertaken by the cluster connects with policy-making and agenda setting stakeholders including national governments, international institutions, NGOs, activist movements, trade unions and civil society organisations. Whilst aspects of the impact initiated by cluster members inflects directly on policy making processes through briefing documents and recommendations, we also recognise that policy is forged within a broader social and political context and thus emphasise the value of influencing public agendas and discourses as a means to open up space for progressive policy debates.   

Policy and agenda setting

Public engagement


We are highly active in terms of public outreach and engagement. Forthcoming activities include workshops for secondary school pupils as part of the University's Think Human Festival and a series of seminars for invited speakers from organisations including trade unions, NGOs and charities. We also work closely with the Widening Participation (WP) activities of various schools and subjects from across the University and seek to promote the value of the arts, humanities and social sciences to a broader public. 

Public engagement

Teaching and pedagogy


The collaborative and interdisciplinary focus of the cluster feeds directly into enhancing research led teaching through knowledge exchange. Members have also been actively involved in impacting teaching practice in HE and beyond through the production of pedogeological research outputs and collaborations with organisations such as The Higher Education Academy.

Teaching and pedagogy

Upcoming events

The Sense of 'Home’: An Interdisciplinary Workshop

Tuesday 29 June via Zoom (Abstract submission: 26 May 2021)

What makes a home? How have our understandings of home changed across space and time? What can we learn from an interdisciplinary approach to conceptualising home?

This workshop will explore these questions across a broad geographical and chronological range, employing methodologies from the humanities and social sciences. We will consider the forces which shape the space and temporalities of the home, as well as the processes by which individuals attempt to make themselves at home in new urban or rural environments. Drawing on examples of voluntary and forced migration and movement, work and worship, family and food, punishment and enslavement, through the lens of gender, class, race, sexuality, and their interconnections, we will consider the physical and emotional impact of the destruction and construction of homes. Much attention has been paid to the way in which identities have been forged in opposition to others, particularly through global cultural encounters. This project will build upon work done on the domestic and public spheres across diverse spaces and times and encourages a focus upon the ways in which identities are created, projected, shaped and retained through the space of the home, or its absence. 

Cooking pot on an open fire

Latest news

Past seminars

Dr Ella Harris (Birkbeck, University of London) Rebranding Precarity: Pop-up Culture as the Seductive New Normal

26 November 2020 at 1.00pm

Rebranding Precarity book cover

Dr Shalini Grover (LSE) From the Local to the Global: Care Chains, Ageing and Futurity through the Indian Ayah

20 November 2020 at 12.00pm

Portrait of Dr Shalini Grover

Dr Richard Carver (Oxford Brookes) ''Stopping Torture: What Works?''

22 October 2020 at 2.00pm

Portrait of Dr Richard Carver