Centre for Movement, Occupational and Rehabilitation Sciences (MOReS)

About us

The Centre for Movement, Occupational and Rehabilitation Sciences is a growing research centre which brings together three key ingredients - Research, Education and Care.

MOReS is underpinned by a strong multidisciplinary and dynamic research team under five key research themes:

  • Movement Sciences
  • Occupational Sciences
  • Clinical Exercise and Rehabilitation Research
  • Trauma and Musculoskeletal Health
  • Paramedic Sciences (coming soon)

Our flagship Clinical Exercise and Rehabilitation Unit (CLEAR Unit) based at the Centre for Sports enables chronic conditions (Pulmonary, Musculoskeletal and Neurological) to exercise in a supported interdisciplinary environment supported by our clinical expertise and research excellence whilst being supported by clinical professionals.

MOReS Logo

Research impact

Excellent scientific research can impact, change and benefit the society we live in and our quality of life. We might see the impact on our economy, our culture, our public policy or services, health provision or in the environment.

The importance of impact arising from high-quality research was recognised in the recent REF2022 (Research Excellence Framework) assessment. The Faculty of Health and Life Sciences submitted case studies covering a diverse mix of research from human medicine to drug discovery and therapy design to health risk assessment policy and vaccine development. 89% of our research outputs were “world-leading” or “internationally excellent”. 87.5% of our multidisciplinary research environment was rated as “internationally excellent”.

Examples of research impact benefiting the local community include:

  • Physical activity for neurological conditions handbook
  • Improving access to exercise for people with neurological conditions
  • Use of novel Gait analysis to detect and monitor clinical conditions
  • Interaction with various commercial entities, enhancing their product range through knowledge and innovation exchange 

Leadership

Patrick Esser

Dr Patrick Esser

Reader in Sport and Rehabilitation Technology

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Mrs Katy Baines Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy kbaines@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Saldiam Barillas Senior Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Science sbarillas@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Ethel Burns Senior Lecturer in Midwifery eburns@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Shelly Coe Senior Lecturer in Nutrition scoe@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Johnny Collett Reader in Clinical Exercise and Rehabilitation jcollett@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Anne Delextrat Senior Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Science adelextrat@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Freeman-May Senior Lecturer in Paramedic Science a.freeman-may@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Ka Yan Hess Lecturer in Occupational Therapy khess@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Mario Inacio Associate Lecturer minacio@brookes.ac.uk
Gill Jones Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation gillianjones@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Samita Kirve Senior Lecturer in Occupational Therapy skirve@brookes.ac.uk
Carol McNally Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy camcnally@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Mitchelmore Senior Lecturer in Health and Exercise Physiology amitchelmore@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Liana Nagy Senior Lecturer & MSc Subject Coordinator lnagy@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Tjeerd Olde Scheper Senior Lecturer tvolde-scheper@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jackie Parsonage-Harrison Elizabeth Casson Research Fellow jparsonage@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Joanna Pierce Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation jpierce@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Tanya Rihtman Principal Lecturer in Occupational Therapy; Occupational Therapy Programme Lead trihtman@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jon Room Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy jroom@brookes.ac.uk
Kimberly Slessor Post Doctoral Research Assistant kslessor@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Robyn Stiger Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy robynstiger@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Thanasis Tektonidis Lecturer in Nutrition atektonidis@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Derick Wade Professor In Neurorehabilitation dwade@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Ben Weedon Post Doctoral Research Assistant b.weedon@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Mark Williams Programme Lead for Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation williams.m@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Annabel Williams Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy annabelwilliams@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Farzaneh Yazdani Senior Lecturer in Occupational Therapy fyazdani@brookes.ac.uk

Students

Name Thesis Title Supervisors Completed
Sam Burden Cardiac function of the left ventricle in obese adolescents with the establishment of links to metabolic health and physiological and perceptual exercise responses Dr Patrick Esser

Active

Ed Daly Concussion characterisation using current concussion diagnosis and evaluation measures compared to novel objective testing methods Dr Adam White, Dr Patrick Esser

Active

Avril Dillon MenFAS Study: Understanding Mental Fatigue After Stroke Professor Helen Dawes

Active

Josh Eales Changing the rules of the game: A longitudinal investigation on the implementation of ecological dynamics within a Premier League football club Dr Matthew Fiander, Dr Patrick Esser, Dr Simon Phelan

Active

Helene Eisenhut Exploring the barriers and facilitators for volunteering as an intervention for those with chronic conditions Dr Farzaneh Yazdani, Dr Johnny Collett

Active

Owen Gustafson Evaluating the musculoskeletal health state of Intensive Care Unit survivors: The MSK-ICU study (led by OUH) Dr Mark Williams, Professor Helen Dawes

Active

Elizabeth King Living with MSK impairments following critical illness Dr Annabel Williams, Dr Mark Williams

Active

Flick Lucas Genetic Predisposition and Clinical Risk Factors on Bone and Musculoskeletal injuries in Competitive Contact Sports: With a focus on the Female Athlete. Dr Alaaddine El-Chab, Dr Vasiliki Iatridi

Active

Ali Aminalsharieh Najafi The impact of immersive technologies including virtual reality, augmented reality and extended reality on the performance and rehabilitation outcomes of young people after sport-related injuries Dr Anne Delextrat, Professor Helen Dawes

Active

Mrs Robyn Stiger Prehabilitation for cancer patients Dr Johnny Collett, Dr Mark Williams

Active

Get involved

Involving the public in our research is critical to its long-term success. There are many different ways you can contribute - by identifying research priorities, as a member of an advisory or steering group or by contributing to information leaflets or research materials.

Register your interest to get involved!