Oxford International Centre for Publishing (OICP)

Director: Professor Angus Phillips

Contact: angus.phillips@brookes.ac.uk

About us

The Oxford International Centre for Publishing (OICP) is one of the leading institutes for media education in the world, with a reputation for innovation and excellence in teaching and research. The Centre offers a range of postgraduate and undergraduate awards in journalism and publishing, and carries out academic research, professional development programmes and consultancy.

Our students come from all over the world to enjoy excellent teaching and learning in one of the largest departments in Europe. It is a lively and stimulating environment, and we host a range of special events and welcome many visitors including industry speakers.

Research is carried out in a range of interdisciplinary areas including contemporary publishing and journalism, book consumption and the life cycle of books, media convergence, digital developments, scholarly communications, post-colonial publishing, early twentieth-century publishing history (including publishing in World War One), and late twentieth and early twenty-first century publishing history. We welcome proposals for PhD research from both UK and international students.
 

More about OICP

OICP event

Research impact

Entrance to the London Book Fair

OICP researchers make regular presentations at academic and industry conferences. The Centre is a partner in the annual By the Book conference, which has taken place in Florence for a number of years. A range of publications from across the team contribute to a significant contribution in the field.

Leadership

Angus Phillips

Professor Angus Phillips

Director of the Oxford International Centre for Publishing

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Mrs Sarah Franklin Senior Lecturer in Publishing s.franklin@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Chris Jennings Senior Lecturer in Digital Publishing chris.jennings@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Miriam Johnson Senior Lecturer in Publishing Media m.johnson@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Antonia Mackay Lecturer in Publishing antoniamackay@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jane Potter Reader in Arts j.potter@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Leander Reeves Senior Lecturer in Publishing leander.reeves@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Phillip Shaw Associate Senior Lecturer in Publishing p0016532@brookes.ac.uk
Polly Silk Senior Lecturer in Publishing psilk@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Craig Taylor Senior Lecturer in Publishing Media craigtaylor@brookes.ac.uk

Students

Name Thesis Title Supervisors Completed
Nicholas Grosso Blueprints: Investigating how principles of architecture and infrastructure inform the construction of publishers' identities in the digital age Professor Angus Phillips, Dr Miriam Johnson

Active

Podcasts

Podcasts from the Oxford International Centre for Publishing at Oxford Brookes University. Speakers from the Publishing industry in front of an audience of students, lecturers and guests.