Student prizes

MSc Applied Sport and Exercise Nutrition

PowerBar Prize for Outstanding Professional Commitment in Sport and Exercise Nutrition

This prize is awarded to the student who demonstrated high levels of commitment to the practice of sport and exercise nutrition while studying at Oxford Brookes. There are no fixed criteria for this award, but recipients typically demonstrate their relative merit by the extent to which they engage in a range of professional practice behaviours during their period of study at Oxford Brookes. This may include, but is not limited to, any of the following:

  • Providing support to Applied Sport and Exercise Nutrition MSc students in ways that help other students achieve a better understanding or practice of sport and exercise nutrition
  • Participation (paid or unpaid) in non-course activities related to sport and exercise nutrition (e.g. supporting local sports teams or athletes by way of advice, presentations, taking useful measurements, etc)
  • Participation in ongoing department research or consultancy work
  • Writing nutrition articles for publication in relevant magazines or websites
  • Attending relevant conferences (e.g. ISSSM, BASEs, NUTSOC, etc)
  • Representing Oxford Brookes to the wider public in a positive manner

Polar UK Prize for Outstanding Research in Sport and Exercise Nutrition (formerly the Human Kinetics Prize)

This award is presented to the student with the highest (or near highest) mark in the Research Project module (module code: NUTR7008).

Our thanks go to PowerBar, Human Kinetics and Polar UK for offering these awards.

Prize winners

Year (class) Award Recipient
2009-2010 PowerBar Andri Pieri
2009-2010 Human Kinetics Sarah Graham
2010-2011 PowerBar Michael Whatman
2010-2011 Human Kinetics Stuart Kirk
2011-2012 PowerBar Leigh Thomas
2011-2012 Human Kinetics Felicity Hares
2012-2013 PowerBar Andrew Barnett
2012-2013 Human Kinetics Adrian Hastings
2013-2014 PowerBar Herlinda Alcala
2013-2014 Human Kinetics Elizabeth Foot
2014-2015 PowerBar Andrew Marley
2014-2015 Human Kinetics Jane Ward
2015-2016 PowerBar Stephanie Catlin
2015-2016 Human Kinetics Portia Rees-Jones
2016-2017 PowerBar Alexander Beaumont
2016-2017 Human Kinetics Hannah Willoughby
2017-18 Human Kinetics Elizabeth Cragg
2017-18 Powerbar Kiera Wilkinson
2018-19 Polar UK Sam Allen
2018-19 Powerbar Dolores Dravinec
2019-2020 Polar UK Nancy Lunnon
2019-2020 Powerbar Megan Bentley

BSc Hons Nutrition and MSc Applied Human Nutrition

BSc Hons Nutrition

The Nutraceuticals Group Europe Prize for the best undergraduate degree in Nutrition

The Nutraceuticals Group Prize is awarded for the student who achieves the highest level of undergraduate degree in Nutrition.

MSc Applied Human Nutrition

The British Bakels Prize for best overall student in the MSc Applied Human Nutrition

The British Bakels prize is awarded yearly to the student with the highest overall mark for the MSc Applied Human Nutrition.

Our thanks go to Nutraceuticals International Europe and British Bakels for offering these awards.

Prize winners

Year (class)AwardRecipient
2013-14British BakelsSophie Watson
2014-15British BakelsMatthew Fruci
2016The Nutraceuticals Group PrizeEmma Robinson
2015-2016British BakelsSarah-Lynn Spruzen
2017The Nutraceuticals Group PrizeMonique Reid
2016-2017British BakelsHannah Brennan
2018The Nutraceuticals Group PrizeToni Walsh
2017-18British BakelsMary Wilson
2018-19British BakelsLucy Goddard
2019The Nutraceuticals Group PrizeHannah Collins
2019-2020British BakelsClare Moran
2020The Nutraceuticals Group PrizeLucie Dickens
2020The Nutraceuticals Group Student Engagement PrizeElla Mcrgigor
2021The Nutraceuticals Group PrizeAmanda Morbey
2021The Nutraceuticals Group Student Engagement PrizeAbbie Owens and Lucy Jones