Communication, Media and Culture

Group Leader(s): Dr Michele Paule

Contact: mpaule@brookes.ac.uk

About us

Communication, Media and Culture takes a uniquely interdisciplinary approach to explore the changing resources that we use to construct and reconstruct the social world.

Much of our work is linked with new and emerging cultural formations, from ethnographic investigations of novel forms of communicative interaction, to philosophical enquiry into the potential of new media systems and technologies, to sociological research into the evolving nature of cultural practices and industries.

Areas of particular expertise include: engagement and participatory potentials in new media forms, from online gaming to remix culture; the negotiation of intercultural identities and citizenships in a globalised world; transformation and persistence in gendered cultures; and the changing relations between humans and the non-human (technology, animals and the natural environment).

Vlogger setting up equipment

Leadership

Michele Paule

Dr Michele Paule

Senior Lecturer in Communication, Media and Culture

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Silvia Dibeltulo Senior Lecturer in Communication, Media and Culture sdibeltulo@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Juliet Henderson Senior Lecturer Communication, Culture and Language jhenderson@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Alon Lischinsky Senior Lecturer in Communication and Discourse alischinsky@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Chris Rizza Senior Lecturer in English Language and Communication crizza@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Paul Wickens Senior Lecturer English Language and Communication paulwickens@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Yelin Senior Lecturer in Media and Culture hyelin@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Andrie Yiakoumetti Senior Lecturer in English Language and TESOL ayiakoumetti@brookes.ac.uk