Religion and Belief

About us


How have religious faith and experience motivated people in the past, and how do they continue to influence people today?

Our work emphasizes the variety and diversity of religious expressions, including the Protestant and Catholic divisions in post-Reformation Christianity, the relationship between religion, the state and politics, new religious movements and the philosophical basis for faith and religion.

We are associated with the Oxford Centre for Methodism and Church History  which holds major archives and art collections, produces a journal, Wesley and Methodist Studies, and hosts regular conferences.

Our academic staff have published very widely on topics such as sacred space, witchcraft in the early modern period, religion and the state in the eighteenth century, Methodism in the eighteenth century, theological responses to Nazism, religion and psychoanalysis, the material and visual cultures of religion, blasphemy, and secularism.

Current research projects include the eighteenth century church and sex, the religious culture of Europe in the seventeenth century, and Freud and feminism.

An open book with someone's fingers marking their place

Related courses

Leadership

Andrew Spicer

Professor Andrew Spicer

Professor of Early Modern European History

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Professor Joanne Begiato Interim Associate Dean (Research and Knowledge Exchange) jbegiato@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Dominic Corrywright Head of Quality Assurance and Validations dcorrywright@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Johannes Dillinger Professor of Early Modern History dillinger@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Peter Forsaith Research Fellow of the Oxford Centre for Methodism and Church History pforsaith@brookes.ac.uk
Professor William Gibson Professor of Ecclesiastical History wgibson@brookes.ac.uk
Professor David Nash Professor in History dsnash@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Reed Research Fellow, Public Engagement Manager d.reed@brookes.ac.uk