National teaching awards

National Teaching Fellowship & Collaborative Award for Teaching in Excellence

About the awards

 Advance HE offer two national level awards for recognising and rewarding teaching excellence: 

  • National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) - The NTF award celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education and has been running since 2000.

  • Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) - CATE recognises and rewards collaborative work that has had a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning. Introduced in 2016, the scheme highlights the key role of teamwork in higher education.

Each year Oxford Brookes can submit up to 3 applicants for the NTF award and 1 team for the CATE award. It is a highly selective process and may take teams or individuals 2-3 years to work towards being in a position to submit a strong application. 

The Oxford Centre of Academic Enhancement and Development (OCAED) and former award winners actively support candidates through this process through an information workshop, a 1-2-1 interview, feedback on a draft and individual mentoring.

Also see

How to apply

For more information about how to apply, please contact:

Oxford Centre for Academic Enhancement and Development

+44 (0)1865 485910