Cognition and Cognitive Neuroscience (C&CN)

Group Leader(s): Dr Sanjay Kumar

Contact: hlsresearch@brookes.ac.uk

About us

There are 3 dominant research strands in this group:

  • visual cognition
  • perception and action
  • remembering past and imagining future events.

Our research includes work in healthy adult populations, as well as in certain clinical groups such as those with dementia and Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD). Some members of the group work alongside clinicians at local hospitals and have collaborators at other academic institutions both nationally and internationally.

Neon lights illuminating a head and brain

Leadership

Sanjay Kumar

Dr Sanjay Kumar

Senior Lecturer in Psychology

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Olivia Afonso Senior Lecturer in Psychology afonso.o@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Nicole Clarke-Hands Visiting Researcher nclarke-hands@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Angus Gellatly Emeritus Professor agellatly@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Lisa Hinkley Senior Lecturer in Psychology lhinkley@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Anna Markaki Student Research Assistant amarkaki@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Michael Pilling Senior Lecturer in Psychology mpilling@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Clare Rathbone Senior Lecturer in Psychology crathbone@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Alfred Veldhuis Lecturer in Public Health aveldhuis@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Kate Wilmut Reader in Psychology k.wilmut@brookes.ac.uk

Students

Name Thesis Title Supervisors Completed
Julie Bennett Experiences of nostalgia in individuals both with and without Autism Dr Clare Rathbone, Dr Kate Wilmut

Active

Sam Bond A Detailed Exploration into the Constraints on Statistical Learning Dr Michael Pilling, Dr Nayeli Gonzalez-Gomez, Dr Olivia Afonso

Active

Sophie Harris The influence of anxiety, self-efficacy and movement variability on the perceptual judgements and executed actions of adults with and without Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD) Dr Clare Rathbone, Dr Kate Wilmut

Active

Methods and techniques

Various methods and techniques are used in this research, with a range of equipment in our specialised research labs:

  • PuMA Lab (Perception and Motion Analysis) houses a 3D motion analysis system, with 6 infrared cameras to track the coordinates of small reflective markers placed on the body. This equipment helps us understand how movements are planned and executed and to investigate the nature of movement difficulties, for example in individuals with Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD).
  • PAAC Lab (Perception, Attention & Affective Cognition) encompasses 3 labs which house our state of the art electroencephalogram (EEG) recording facility for event related potential (REP) research, our Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) equipment which can temporarily excite or inhibit a small area of the brain, and our visual cognition lab.
  • Writing Lab offers a range of equipment to record and measure handwriting and keyboarding behaviour.
Hand movements during a test