Cognition and Cognitive Neuroscience (C&CN)

Group Leader(s): Dr Kate Wilmut

Contact: hlsresearch@brookes.ac.uk

About us


There are 3 dominant research strands in this group:

  • visual cognition
  • perception and action
  • remembering past and imagining future events.

Our research includes work in healthy adult populations, as well as in certain clinical groups such as those with dementia and Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD). Some members of the group work alongside clinicians at local hospitals and have collaborators at other academic institutions both nationally and internationally.

Neon lights illuminating a head and brain

Leadership

Kate Wilmut

Dr Kate Wilmut

Reader in Psychology

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Olivia Afonso Senior Lecturer in Psychology afonso.o@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Angus Gellatly Emeritus Professor agellatly@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Lisa Hinkley Senior Lecturer in Psychology lhinkley@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Sanjay Kumar Senior Lecturer in Psychology skumar@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Michael Pilling Senior Lecturer in Psychology mpilling@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Clare Rathbone Senior Lecturer in Psychology crathbone@brookes.ac.uk

Methods and techniques

Various methods and techniques are used in this research, with a range of equipment in our specialised research labs:

  • PuMA Lab (Perception and Motion Analysis) houses a 3D motion analysis system, with 6 infrared cameras to track the coordinates of small reflective markers placed on the body. This equipment helps us understand how movements are planned and executed and to investigate the nature of movement difficulties, for example in individuals with Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD).
  • PAAC Lab (Perception, Attention & Affective Cognition) encompasses 3 labs which house our state of the art electroencephalogram (EEG) recording facility for event related potential (REP) research, our Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) equipment which can temporarily excite or inhibit a small area of the brain, and our visual cognition lab.
  • Writing Lab offers a range of equipment to record and measure handwriting and keyboarding behaviour.
Hand movements during a test