Science, Technology, Engineering, Art & Mathematics (STEAM) Research Group

Group Leader(s): Professor Deb McGregor

Contact: dmcgregor@brookes.ac.uk +44 (0)1865 488355

About us

We engage in research related to pedagogy and learning across the curriculum subjects within STEAM contexts. The various projects bring together academics and practitioners working on a range of learning and pedagogic issues in order to facilitate change in practice in schools, colleges and higher education through evidence based-research and/or policy developments at local, regional or national levels.

We aim to:

  • undertake and promote high-quality research and scholarship in the field of STEAM pedagogy and learning
  • disseminate its research findings widely, through various means, including publications, electronic media, conferences and seminars
  • develop both critical and creative perspectives within STEAM
  • promote research focused on both practice and learning
  • seek funding for research from a wide range of sources
  • facilitate a research and discussion forum that will meet regularly throughout the academic year
  • liaise with other research groups both within the department and beyond
  • develop active networks both nationally and internationally.

More about STEAM@Brookes

STEAM logo

Leadership

Debra McGregor

Professor Deb McGregor

Professor in Education

View profile

Sarah Frodsham

Dr Sarah Frodsham

Senior Lecturer in Educational Research

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Mr James Bird Senior Lecturer in Education jbird@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Mary Briggs Principal Lecturer and Programme Lead for Childhood & Education mbriggs@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Carmel Capewell Lecturer in Child Development and Education/SEN/Inclusion ccapewell@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Adrienne Duggan Senior Lecturer in Drama in Education aduggan@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Clare Fenwick Senior Lecturer in Education: Primary Computing cfenwick@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Jane Fletcher Senior Lecturer in Primary Humanities & Early Years Education j.fletcher@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Nicoleta Gaciu Senior Lecturer in Education ngaciu@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Jennifer Gadd Senior Lecturer in Education: Primary Science jgadd@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Karen Hosack Janes Associate Lecturer in Education khosack-janes@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Tracey Martin Millward Associate Lecturer in Education tmartin-milward@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Carolyn Murphy Senior Lecturer in Primary Education cmurphy@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Payne Principal Lecturer Student Experience rpayne@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Louise Price Senior Lecturer in Primary Education and Core Curriculum lprice@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Hermione Ruck Keene Senior Lecturer in Primary Education and Creative Curriculum hruckkeene@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Lorna Shires Principal Lecturer: Teacher Development Programme Lead : Initial Teacher Education lshires@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Jo Skelton Senior Lecturer in Primary Maths and School Liaison jskelton@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Jane Spiro Professor in Education and TESOL, National Teaching Fellow jspiro@brookes.ac.uk
Louise Stafford Senior Lecturer in Primary Maths Education and Schools Liaison lstafford@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Jo Thompson Senior Lecturer in Primary Science Education j.thompson@brookes.ac.uk
Mrs Kimberly Waring Paynter Senior Lecturer in Primary Education kwaring-paynter@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Helen Wilson Affiliate Tutor (Science) h.wilson@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Mandy Winters Principal Lecturer: Educational Partnerships mwinters@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Roger Wood Senior Lecturer in Education (Primary Science, Nature Conservation and Inquiry-Based Learning) dwood@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Debbie Wright Senior Lecturer in Education dwright@brookes.ac.uk

Students

Name Thesis Title Supervisors Completed
Polly Bell Creativity in arts and science classes Professor Deb McGregor, Dr Sarah Frodsham

Active

Ben Burbank Young children’s experiences of museums Professor Deb McGregor, Professor Mary Wild 2021
Robert Curry Exploring service development to scaffold cross-disciplinary critical maker-learning in a Higher Education Academic Library Makerspace: a case study through the lens of cultural-historical activity Dr Patrick Alexander 2021
Sally Howard Contrasting science inquiry learning across primary and secondary phases Professor Deb McGregor

Active

Kirstie Mahoney Young children learning through play Professor Deb McGregor

Active