Contact us

Responsibility for supporting and delivering our commitment to advance equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) lies with each and every member of the Oxford Brookes University community.

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Group, chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, provides oversight and direction for our EDI initiatives. Formal governance and accountability for our legal obligations lies with our Board of Governors

A range of dedicated roles and groups are established to drive forward our EDI Strategy and lead on our priorities and objectives.

EDI Team with University-wide responsibilities, based in the People Directorate

  • Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: Adrienne Hopkins
  • Deputy Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: Yasmin Ahmed
  • EDI Adviser: Jane Butcher
  • Race Equity and Equality Charter Consultant: Emrys Hughes
  • EDI Data Analyst: Heather Griffiths and Jasmin Khokhra (Maternity cover)

EDI Committees and leadership roles in faculties:

  • Technology Design and Environment - Gary Mattingley and Lucy Turner
  • Humanities and Social Sciences - Dr Jane Stevens Crawshaw and Dr Emily Brown
  • Health and Life Sciences - Professor Astrid Schloerscheidt and Jill Childs
  • Oxford Brookes Business School - Dr Nick Wilton

University level groups:

  • Equality Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Group: Secretary Jane Butcher
  • Athena Swan Steering Group - Professor Linda King
  • Disability Equality Steering Group - Adrienne Hopkins
  • LGBTQ+ Equality Steering Group - Dr Lindsay Williams
  • Race Equality Steering Group -  Sarah Thonemann
  • Access and Participation Group - Professor Astrid Schloerscheidt
  • Multifaith Advisory Board - Tamsin Kershaw-Murphy
  • University Mental Health Charter - Professor Astrid Scheloerscheidt

Staff Diversity Networks

EDI queries relating to staff experience: