Oxford Regions, Innovation & Enterprise Lab

About us

Oxford Regions, Innovation & Enterprise Lab (ORIEL) is a centre of excellence focusing on enterprise, entrepreneurship, innovation and economic development research. ORIEL’s mission is to:

  • deliver engaged and impactful research
  • seek to influence research and practice
  • have a positive impact on local communities as well as on organisations and society throughout the world.

ORIEL provides a platform for enterprise, entrepreneurship, innovation and regional economic development research and engagement that focuses on and addresses the needs of public, private and third sector stakeholders. By linking intellectually-led questions and practice-based solutions, ORIEL brings together academic insight and its application.

Members of ORIEL are engaged in local, national and international research on a range of issues, from regional economic development, entrepreneurial ecosystems, and innovation to sustainability, SME growth, and internationalisation. Our research is driven by forward-thinking agendas and debates around technological advancement, in particular the impact and implications of artificial intelligence for organisations, economy, and society, as well as inclusivity, sustainability, and resilience.

image of earth from above

Leadership

Dr Sara le Roux

Interim Deputy Associate Dean Undergraduate Studies; Reader in Applied Economics and Decision

View profile

Joanna Karmowska

Dr Joanna Karmowska

Senior Lecturer in Organisation Studies and International Management

View profile

Dr Jeremy Zwiegelaar

Senior Lecturer in Enterprise and Business

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Simon Adderley Senior Lecturer in Enterprise and Entrepreneurship sadderley@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Sola Adesola Senior Lecturer in Business and Management sadesola@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Levent Altinay Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship; Research Area Leader for Oxford School of Hospitality Management laltinay@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Bjoern Asmussen Senior Lecturer in Marketing bjoern.asmussen@brookes.ac.uk
Nigel Bassett-Jones Senior Lecturer nbassett-jones@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Shelley Beck Senior Lecturer in Business, Enterprise and Entrepreneurship sbeck@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Carlo Ludovico Cordasco Lecturer in Business and Management ccordasco@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Surja Datta Senior Lecturer in Strategy and Innovation sdatta@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Beverley Fulton Lecturer in Events Management bfulton@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Harlow Lecturer charlow@brookes.ac.uk
Ross Jordan Programme Lead Business & Management, Programme Lead Business, Enterprise, & Entrepreneurship, Academic Advisor for Senior Leader Apprenticeships rjordan@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Javier Monllor Senior Lecturer in Business and Management jmonllor@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Quinton Reader in Digital Society sequinton@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Syahirah Rahman Lecturer in Business and Management sabdul-rahman@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Kate Ringham Programme Lead Applied Accounting kringham@brookes.ac.uk
Ms Allison Robinson Lecturer in Accounting and Finance allisonrobinson@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Lauren Tuckerman Lecturer in Business and Management ltuckerman@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Charoula Tzanakou Senior Lecturer ctzanakou@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Robert van der Veen Research Fellow robert.vanderveen@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Chengbo Wang Senior Lecturer in Operations Management chengbowang@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Steve Workman Associate Lecturer steve.workman-2017@brookes.ac.uk

Projects

Active projects

Project title and description Investigator(s) Funder(s) Dates

Entrepreneurial Resiliency, Innovation, and Change during the COVID-19 Crisis

A UKRI research project designed to help British entrepreneurs survive and thrive during a time of uncertainty.
Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: June 2020
Until: February 2022

Innovating Next Generation Services through Collaborative Design

This project seeks to understand and address the challenges facing mid-sized professional services firms in law and accountancy in adopting and implementing AI technologies.
Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: December 2018
Until: June 2020

Innovation Caucus

The Innovation Caucus supports sustainable innovation-led growth by promoting engagement between the social sciences and the innovation ecosystem.
Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: June 2020
Until: November 2022

DIGIT Lab

Accelerating digital innovation for growth, impact, and transformation of large established organisations.
Dr Jeremy Zwiegelaar, Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: March 2021
Until: February 2026