Oxford Regions, Innovation & Enterprise Lab

About us

Oxford Regions, Innovation & Enterprise Lab (ORIEL) is a centre of excellence focusing on enterprise, entrepreneurship, innovation and economic development research. ORIEL’s mission is to:

  • deliver engaged and impactful research
  • seek to influence research and practice
  • have a positive impact on local communities as well as on organisations and society throughout the world.

ORIEL provides a platform for enterprise, entrepreneurship, innovation and regional economic development research and engagement that focuses on and addresses the needs of public, private and third sector stakeholders. By linking intellectually-led questions and practice-based solutions, ORIEL brings together academic insight and its application.

Members of ORIEL are engaged in local, national and international research on a range of issues, from regional economic development, entrepreneurial ecosystems, and innovation to sustainability, SME growth, and internationalisation. Our research is driven by forward-thinking agendas and debates around technological advancement, in particular the impact and implications of artificial intelligence for organisations, economy, and society, as well as inclusivity, sustainability, and resilience.

image of earth from above

Leadership

Sara le Roux

Dr Sara le Roux

Interim Deputy Associate Dean Undergraduate Studies; Reader in Applied Economics and Decision

View profile

Joanna Karmowska

Dr Joanna Karmowska

Senior Lecturer in Organisation Studies and International Management

View profile

Jeremy Zwiegelaar

Dr Jeremy Zwiegelaar

Senior Lecturer in Enterprise and Business

View profile

Professor Tim Vorley

Pro Vice-Chancellor & Dean

View profile

Jen Nelles

Dr Jen Nelles

Senior Research Fellow

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Wilson Ndasi Senior Lecturer in Digital Marketing wndasi@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Simon Adderley Senior Lecturer in Enterprise and Entrepreneurship sadderley@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Sola Adesola Senior Lecturer in Business and Management sadesola@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Levent Altinay Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship; Research Area Leader for Oxford School of Hospitality Management laltinay@brookes.ac.uk
Nigel Bassett-Jones Senior Lecturer nbassett-jones@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Shelley Beck Senior Lecturer in Business, Enterprise and Entrepreneurship sbeck@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Carlo Ludovico Cordasco Lecturer in Business and Management ccordasco@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Judie Gannon Subject Coordinator of the Doctorate of Coaching & Mentoring, Deputy Head of OBBS Doctoral Programmes jmgannon@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Hawkins Senior Lecturer rjhawkins@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Stefanos Ioannou Senior Lecturer in Economics sioannou@brookes.ac.uk
Ross Jordan Programme Lead Business & Management, Programme Lead Business, Enterprise, & Entrepreneurship, Academic Advisor for Senior Leader Apprenticeships rjordan@brookes.ac.uk
Katerina Kosta Teaching Fellow katerinakosta@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Nicolette Michels Associate Dean Undergraduate and Postgraduate Programmes nmichels@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Kate Mingjie Ji Senior Lecturer in Finance and Revenue Management mji@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Javier Monllor Senior Lecturer in Business and Management jmonllor@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Sarah Quinton Interim Associate Dean Research & Knowledge Exchange. Reader in Digital Society and Research Area Lead Marketing sequinton@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Syahirah Rahman Lecturer in Business and Management sabdul-rahman@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Kate Ringham Programme Lead Applied Accounting kringham@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Tzameret Rubin Senior Lecturer in Innovation Management t.rubin@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Lauren Tuckerman Lecturer in Business and Management ltuckerman@brookes.ac.uk
Steve Workman Research Fellow sworkman@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Karla Zimpel-Leal Senior Lecturer in Innovation and Enterprise kzimpel-leal@brookes.ac.uk

Projects

Active projects

Project title and description Investigator(s) Funder(s) Dates

Entrepreneurial Resiliency, Innovation, and Change during the COVID-19 Crisis

A UKRI research project designed to help British entrepreneurs survive and thrive during a time of uncertainty.
Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: June 2020
Until: February 2022

Innovating Next Generation Services through Collaborative Design

This project seeks to understand and address the challenges facing mid-sized professional services firms in law and accountancy in adopting and implementing AI technologies.
Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: December 2018
Until: June 2020

Innovation Caucus

The Innovation Caucus supports sustainable innovation-led growth by promoting engagement between the social sciences and the innovation ecosystem.
Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: June 2020
Until: November 2022

DIGIT Lab

Accelerating digital innovation for growth, impact, and transformation of large established organisations.
Dr Jeremy Zwiegelaar, Professor Tim Vorley, Dr Cristian Gherhes ESRC From: March 2021
Until: February 2026

Back to top