Education (MA) full-time

Including the following pathways:

- MA Education Open Route
- MA Education Childhood and Youth Studies (CYS)
- MA Education Leadership and Management (LEM)
- MA Education Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND)
- MA Education (TESOL)

 

During Induction week, make sure you follow your course induction schedule below, this must take priority over any other events. Most of these induction events will be on campus but there may be additional online events that you will need to attend or watch.

Next steps

 

MA (Education) 
The details of the sessions are in the table below. Please attend the session for the mode of study you have selected. It is expected that students will opt for one of the pathways, but for induction that aspect is less important. There are different induction schedules for different modes of study. 

Full Time on Campus 
These students have sessions on campus and the expectation is that students will attend all sessions. Some of the classes run from 5-7:30pm, so that the Distance Learning On Campus students can attend. Students in this mode of study will complete the course in a year.

Induction schedule

Please read the live version of your schedule below and make sure to check back here for any updates.

Saturday 17 September

Time Event details Location
12:00am

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Induction Handbook 2022-23

Everything you need to know for Induction Week and beyond in one place.

Available from Welcome Weekend

Handbook

Wednesday 21 September

Time Event details Location
1:00pm - 2:30pm

Introduction and Welcome to the MA Education and the Harcourt campus Session 1

Agenda: 

Welcome – Introductions 
Support Services - Student Support coordinator; Centre for Academic Development
Programme Calendar – Key dates and assessments
How to add modules

B138/9 , B Block, Harcourt Hill Campus

Key contacts

Job title Name Contact details
Student Support Coordinator Sarah Woodward swoodward@brookes.ac.uk
Subject Coordinator for MA Education (open route)  James Percival jpercival@brookes.ac.uk

Subject Coordinator for MA Ed: Leadership & management 

Mark Gibson m.gibson@brookes.ac.uk
Subject Coordinator for MA Ed: SEND Jon Reid j.reid@brookes.ac.uk

Subject Coordinator for:

  • MA  Ed: Childhood and Youth
  • PGC Ed: Early Childhood
Carmel Capewell ccapewell@brookes.ac.uk

Subject Coordinator for MA Ed: TESOL

Paul Wickens paulwickens@brookes.ac.uk
Programme Lead TBC  
Programme Administrator Gill Cross  gcross@brookes.ac.uk
Academic Liaison Librarian Hazel Rothera  hrotherca@brookes.ac.uk

Reading lists

This is an indicative reading list of the core books used for your course's compulsory modules.
 

 

Childhood and Youth Studies route

ECS7002

Gopnik, A. (2016) The gardener and the carpenter: what the new science of child development tells us about the relationship between parents and children

ECS7003

Madej, K, Judson, G, & Egan, K (eds) 2015, Engaging Imagination and Developing Creativity in Education (2nd Edition)

ECS7004

Wyness, M. (2019) Childhood and Society

 

TESOL route

EDUC7013

Spiro, J. (2013) Changing Methodologies in TESOL Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press

EDUC7012

Ortega, L. (2013) Understanding second language acquisition. London: Routledge

EDUC7011

Flowerdew, J. (2013) Discourse in Language Education. London: Routledge.

Leadership and Management route EDUC7021  

SEN route 

EDUC7063

Webster, R (2022) The Inclusion Illusion. London. UCLPress Link here:

https://www.uclpress.co.uk/products/152465 

Open route

EDUC7001

Thomas, G. (2017) How to do your Research Project, 3rd edn (London: SAGE).