Smart Construction and Impact Assessment (SC&IA)

About us


The SC&IA research group undertakes fundamental and applied research, and engages in knowledge exchange activities with an emphasis on dealing with global challenges and the climate emergency. The pedagogic implications of these challenges for the built environment disciplines is another strong theme.

Our activities cover a wide range of specialist and interdisciplinary areas, including: 

  • environmental impact assessment
  • resilience and adaptive capacity of urban environments
  • digitalisation and digital technologies 
  • retrofit and refurbishment
  • distributed and renewable energy systems.

City skyline at night

Research impact

Wind turbines along the coast

The central aim of our group’s activities is to provide the industry and policy makers with innovative decision-making tools and solutions for planning, procuring and delivering infrastructure and building projects and services that maximise economic, social and environmental benefits to society. The group has a wealth of expertise in assessing these impacts and benefits for ensuring there is equity and quality of life.

For example, our experts on environmental impact assessment have pioneered research on the local socio-economic impacts of major power station projects. Resultant insights have included:

  • increasing focus on socio-economic impacts in the assessments of such projects
  • use of associated planning techniques and mitigation measures
  • use of the research by a wide range of stakeholders, including developers, local communities, local authorities and various agencies (e.g. health, education, etc).  

More recently, a recent study led by Professor John Glasson provided a unique insight into the actual local impacts of the early construction years of the Hinkley Point C Project, currently one of the largest construction projects in Europe.

Leadership

Esra Kurul

Dr Esra Kurul

Reader in Organisational Studies in the Built Environment

View profile

Membership

Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Henry Abanda Reader in Real Estate and Construction fabanda@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Selorm Adukpo Senior Lecturer in Quantity Surveying and Commercial Management selorm.adukpo@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Adeyemi Akintola Senior Lecturer in Quantity Surveying and Commercial Management aakintola@brookes.ac.uk
Dr George Blumberg Senior Lecturer in Built Environment gblumberg@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Martin Broderick Visiting Professor & Examining Inspector for National Infrastructure Projects, Planning Inspectorate mbroderick@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Bridget Durning Senior Lecturer and Faculty Ethics Officer bdurning@brookes.ac.uk
Professor John Glasson Professor Emeritus in Planning and Impact Assessment jglasson@brookes.ac.uk
Mr Max Muncaster Senior Lecturer in Building Services mmuncaster@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Husein Perez Research Fellow in Construction Informatics hperez@brookes.ac.uk
Adrian Robinson Senior Lecturer in in Construction Technology arobinson@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Maurizio Sibilla Senior Research Fellow in Sustainable Construction msibilla@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Joe Tah Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Faculty of Technology, Design and Environment jtah@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Graham Wood Reader in Environmental Assessment and Management gjwood@brookes.ac.uk

Projects

Active projects

Project title and description Principal investigator(s) Funder(s) Dates

The Effect of Offshore Wind on the Human Environment (THEOW)

Study into the socio-economic impacts of offshore wind on the human environment.

Dr Bridget Durning EOWDC From: April 2017

InClimate: Integrating climate resilience in EU higher education

Most countries in the EU are dealing with climate risk management issues but lack a holistic and common approach to resilience. This topic has become one of the priorities of the Erasmus Programme. The InClimate project addresses this by focusing on urban resilience.

Dr Esra Kurul, Dr Maurizio Sibilla European Commission From: October 2020
Until: September 2022

Completed projects

Project title and description Principle investigator(s) Funder(s) Dates

Hinkley Point C (HPC) Construction: Monitoring and Auditing Study

A study of the strategic effects of the construction of the Hinkley Point C Nuclear Power Station and other Nuclear New Build (NNB) over time.

Dr Bridget Durning NNLAG From: November 2018
Until: July 2019

Innovative learning platform for Energy Retrofit (C-mapER)

The project focuses on the development of an advanced educational approach founded substantially on a novel application of cognitive maps and meaningful learning activities in designing technological solutions for energy retrofit.

Dr Esra Kurul, Dr Maurizio Sibilla European Commission From: September 2017
Until: September 2019

Envisioning BasES (Buildings-as-Energy-Service)

The main aim of the Envisioning BasES project is to develop a toolkit for knowledge integration. The toolkit will envisage buildings as components of future Distributed Renewable and Interactive Energy Systems (DRIs).

Dr Esra Kurul, Dr Maurizio Sibilla N+ From: February 2020
Until: July 2020